Skip to content
Bench & Berm

Range Basics / Head to head

UpLULA vs Speed Beez: one loader for everything, or one for your 9mm

Maglula sells breadth: one tool, no inserts, 9mm Luger up to .45 ACP. Speed Beez sells a named compatibility list and a lever. Which matters depends entirely on how many calibers you own.

By Mike M.Updated How we pick

#adAs an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never set a score or pick a winner. How we pick · Disclosure

Safety first. This is general information, not a substitute for hands-on instruction. Follow your range's rules and your firearm's manual, and consider a certified safety course. See our gun safety rules.

The contenders

Side by side

A man in amber safety glasses, with earmuffs around his neck, loading a magazine at a range bench
Illustrative stock photo. It doesn't show a specific product on this page.

A magazine loader is the cheapest quality-of-life purchase in a range bag and the one new shooters are talked out of most often, usually by somebody who has never loaded fifteen rounds into a double-stack 9mm magazine with cold hands. Loading by thumb is fine for the first magazine and painful by the fourth, and painful means you shoot fewer rounds in a session.

Two tools dominate the conversation, and they are built on opposite philosophies. One is a universal tool. The other is a caliber-specific tool with a published list of the pistols it fits. Our best magazine loaders page ranks the whole category; this page is the head-to-head.

The verdict

What each one actually is

The UpLULA is a squeeze tool. It sits over the top of the magazine, a grip in the hand depresses the follower and the top round, and you drop a cartridge into the gap. Maglula also lists it as unloading as well as loading, which is the feature people forget they wanted until the first time they need to empty a magazine without thumbing fifteen rounds off a feed lip.

The Speed Beez Lever Loader works the lever rather than the grip, and Speed Beez lists it for 9mm only. Rather than claiming broad coverage, Speed Beez publishes the pistols it fits: Glock 17, 19, 26, 43, 43X and 48, SIG P226, P320, P365 and P2022, S&W M&P and Shield Plus, Ruger, CZ P10 and more on the maker's own list. It is also made in the USA, which Speed Beez states on the page.

Side by side

Published figures only, each value linked to the maker page it came from.

Published specMaglula UpLULA Pistol Magazine LoaderSpeed Beez Lever Loader for 9mmETS Group GEN II C.A.M. Loader 9mm/.40
CalibersNot published9mm9mm and .40, single and double stack
Works with"Virtually all 9mm Luger up to .45ACP single and double-stack magazines of all manufacturers" (maker's claim)Glock 17/19/26/43/43X/48, SIG P226/P320/P365/P2022, S&W M&P and Shield Plus, Ruger, CZ P10, and more (per Speed Beez's list)Not published
Adjustments"No inserts, spacers, or adjustments"Not publishedNot published
WarrantyNot publishedNot published"Made in the USA and comes with a LIFETIME WARRANTY" (maker's claim)
Made inNot publishedUSANot published
Score8.3/107.5/108.3/10
Magazine loaders as published by Maglula, Speed Beez and ETS Group. A blank cell means the maker does not state it on the product page.

Breadth versus a named list

This is the real distinction and it is worth understanding as a difference in how each maker writes, not just in what each tool does.

Maglula claims breadth. Its UpLULA page says "virtually all 9mm Luger up to .45ACP single and double-stack magazines of all manufacturers" plus "most .380ACP single and double-stack mags and 1911's mags". Those hedges, "virtually all" and "most", are doing real work, and to Maglula's credit the company names its exceptions elsewhere rather than hiding them.

Speed Beez claims specificity. Its lever loader page lists models. That is more useful if your pistol is on the list and useless if it is not, which is the trade you are making.

Practical rule: if you can find your exact pistol in a maker's published list, the named list beats a broad claim every time. If you cannot, breadth with hedges beats a list that excludes you.

Read the exceptions before you buy

Every loader has magazines it does not fit, and the makers worth buying from publish them. This section is the single most useful thing on the page.

  • ETS names them directly on its C.A.M. Loader page: STI 2011, Taurus PT709 and G3c, Walther CCP and SIG P938 magazines.
  • Maglula publishes a long non-fitting list for the BabyUpLULA: Ruger MKI, MKII and MKIII, Glock 42 and 44, Ruger LC380 and Security .380, SIG P290 .380 and P365-380, S&W M&P .380 Shield EZ and Bodyguard 2.0 .380, Walther CCP .380, Beretta 81 Cheetah, Henry AR-7 and Colt ACE.
  • Speed Beez publishes a fits list rather than an exceptions list, so the absence of your model is the warning.

Two names appear on more than one exception list, which tells you something: the Walther CCP and the Taurus G3c have magazine geometry that loaders struggle with. If you own either, check the specific maker's page before ordering anything.

Warranty

A loader is a plastic tool that gets squeezed hard thousands of times, so the warranty is not a footnote. Maglula publishes a limited one-year warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. ETS publishes what it describes as a lifetime warranty on its C.A.M. Loader, and says the tool is made in the USA. Speed Beez does not state a warranty on the page we checked, which is worth knowing before you choose it on specificity alone.

If warranty is your tiebreaker and you shoot 9mm or .40, the ETS is the pick rather than either of the two in the headline. That is an honest answer to a two-way comparison and it is the one the published terms support.

If you shoot .22

Neither headline tool covers rimfire. Maglula lists the UpLULA for 9mm Luger through .45 ACP and most .380, not .22, and the Speed Beez is 9mm only. A .22 target pistol magazine is exactly the one that hurts most to load by thumb, because the spring is stiff relative to the tiny follower button.

The BabyUpLULA is the answer there: Maglula lists it for ".22LR, .25, .32 and .380ACP cal. pistol mags of all manufacturers", in single-stack and narrow-body form, and it weighs 40 grams. Read the non-fitting list above first, because it is long for .380 pocket pistols specifically. Our ear protection for a .22 page covers the other thing people get wrong about rimfire sessions.

Which to buy

  • Two or more pistol calibers: Maglula UpLULA.
  • One 9mm, on the published list: Speed Beez Lever Loader.
  • 9mm or .40 and you want the longest warranty: ETS Group GEN II C.A.M. Loader.
  • .22, .25, .32 or single-stack .380: Maglula BabyUpLULA, after checking the exception list.
  • A 1911: UpLULA, which Maglula lists for most 1911 magazines.
  • You want to unload as well as load: either Maglula tool; both are listed for both directions.

Whichever you buy, the loader belongs in the bag rather than at home. Our what to put in a range bag page has the full list, and what to bring to the shooting range covers the first trip. Loading happens on a bench with the muzzle pointed downrange and your finger off the trigger, as the NSSF's rules of firearm safety and the newcomer guidance at letsgoshooting.org both set out.

In detail

The contenders, in full

MaglulaNo image

Pick if you own more than one caliber

Maglula UpLULA Pistol Magazine Loader

Maglula lists it for virtually all 9mm Luger up to .45 ACP single and double stack mags, most .380 and 1911 mags, with no inserts, spacers or adjustments.

How the 8.3 score breaks down
Does the job as published (35%)
9
Compatibility & fit (25%)
9
Easy for a first-timer (20%)
8.5
Durability as published (20%)
6

What the specs support

  • One loader from 9mm Luger up to .45 ACP, per Maglula
  • Also listed for most .380 ACP and 1911 magazines
  • No inserts, spacers or adjustments to swap between calibers
  • Unloads as well as loads

Where it falls short

  • "Virtually all" and "most" mean an odd magazine may not fit; Maglula names the exceptions, so check yours
  • Maglula publishes a one-year limited warranty; ETS publishes a lifetime one on its loader

Skip it if…

…you mainly shoot .22 rimfire; Maglula lists the UpLULA for 9mm through .45 ACP and most .380, not .22.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Maglula UpLULA Pistol Magazine Loader

Speed Beez Lever Loader for 9mm

Pick if you shoot 9mm and want a named fit

Speed Beez Lever Loader for 9mm

Made in the USA with a published model list: Glock 17/19/26/43/43X/48, SIG P226/P320/P365/P2022, S&W M&P and Shield Plus, Ruger, CZ P10 and more.

How the 7.5 score breaks down
Does the job as published (35%)
8
Compatibility & fit (25%)
7.5
Easy for a first-timer (20%)
8
Durability as published (20%)
6

What the specs support

  • Speed Beez lists compatible pistols by model, including popular Glock, SIG and S&W 9mm models
  • Made in the USA
  • The list runs from the Glock 17 and SIG P226 to the Glock 43/43X/48 and SIG P365

Where it falls short

  • 9mm only
  • If your pistol isn't on Speed Beez's list, check before you buy
  • Warranty isn't stated on the page we checked

Skip it if…

…you own pistols in more than one caliber; the Maglula UpLULA is listed for 9mm through .45 ACP.

$29.95View on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Speed Beez Lever Loader for 9mm

ETS Group GEN II C.A.M. Loader 9mm/.40

Pick if the warranty is the tiebreaker

ETS Group GEN II C.A.M. Loader 9mm/.40

9mm and .40, single and double stack, and ETS publishes a lifetime warranty where Maglula publishes one year.

How the 8.3 score breaks down
Does the job as published (35%)
8.5
Compatibility & fit (25%)
7.5
Easy for a first-timer (20%)
8
Durability as published (20%)
9

What the specs support

  • Covers 9mm and .40, single and double stack
  • Lifetime warranty and made in the USA, per ETS
  • ETS publishes the exceptions, so you can check your magazine before you buy

Where it falls short

  • Doesn't fit STI 2011, Taurus PT709/G3c, Walther CCP or SIG P938 mags, per ETS
  • 9mm and .40 only; no .380 or .45 listed

Skip it if…

…you own a Taurus G3c or PT709, a Walther CCP, a SIG P938 or an STI 2011; ETS lists those magazines as exceptions.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to ETS Group GEN II C.A.M. Loader 9mm/.40

MaglulaNo image

Pick if your mags are small single-stacks

Maglula BabyUpLULA Pistol Magazine Loader

The companion tool: .22LR, .25, .32 and .380 ACP single-stack mags, with Maglula publishing a named list of the pistols it will not fit.

How the 7.9 score breaks down
Does the job as published (35%)
8.5
Compatibility & fit (25%)
7
Easy for a first-timer (20%)
9
Durability as published (20%)
7

What the specs support

  • Covers the small calibers the standard UpLULA doesn't: .22LR, .25, .32 and .380 ACP
  • Maglula publishes a named list of the magazines it won't fit, so you can check yours first
  • Unloads as well as loads, which is how most people empty a .22 mag without a sore thumb
  • 40 grams, so it disappears into a range bag pocket

Where it falls short

  • The exception list is long for .380 pocket pistols, and several popular ones are on it
  • Single-stack and narrow-body mags only; a double-stack 9mm needs the standard UpLULA
  • One-year limited warranty, where ETS publishes a lifetime one on its loader

Skip it if…

…you shoot a Glock 42 or 44, a Ruger LC380 or Security .380, a SIG P290 or P365-380, an M&P Shield EZ, a Bodyguard 2.0 or a Walther CCP; Maglula lists all of those as non-fitting.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Maglula BabyUpLULA Pistol Magazine Loader

How we scored this

Every pick, scored on numbers you can check

Every pick here is labeled Researched: we compiled each maker's published specs (the EPA-labeled NRR on hearing protection, the Z87+ mark on glasses), read the manuals, checked the standards behind them, and scored everything on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and marketing claims are labeled “maker's claim,” so you can see exactly why a pick ranks where it does.

Scores are editorial judgments built from that documented research. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Common questions

Is the UpLULA or the Speed Beez better?
It depends on how many calibers you own. The UpLULA is listed by Maglula for virtually all 9mm Luger up to .45 ACP magazines with no inserts, spacers or adjustments, which makes it the pick for a mixed collection. The Speed Beez Lever Loader is 9mm only but publishes a named list of pistols it fits, which is more reassuring if your pistol is on it.
What calibers does the Maglula UpLULA fit?
Maglula lists it for virtually all 9mm Luger up to .45 ACP single and double-stack magazines from all manufacturers, plus most .380 ACP single and double-stack magazines and most 1911 magazines, with no inserts, spacers or adjustments. It does not cover .22 rimfire; that is the BabyUpLULA's job.
Does the Speed Beez lever loader fit my pistol?
Check Speed Beez's own list, which names Glock 17, 19, 26, 43, 43X and 48, SIG P226, P320, P365 and P2022, S&W M&P and Shield Plus, Ruger, CZ P10 and more. Because Speed Beez publishes a fits list rather than an exceptions list, the absence of your model from that list is the warning rather than a guarantee of failure.
Which magazine loader has the best warranty?
Of the three on this page, ETS Group, which states that its GEN II C.A.M. Loader is made in the USA and comes with a lifetime warranty. Maglula publishes a limited one-year warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. Speed Beez does not state a warranty on the product page we checked.
Can a magazine loader unload magazines too?
Maglula's tools can. The UpLULA page lists loading and unloading, and Maglula describes super-fast unloading on the BabyUpLULA. That matters more than people expect, because stripping fifteen rounds off a feed lip with a thumbnail at the end of a session is its own small misery.
Do you need a magazine loader for a .22 pistol?
It is arguably where one helps most, because a rimfire magazine has a stiff spring relative to a tiny follower button. Neither the UpLULA nor the Speed Beez covers .22; the BabyUpLULA is listed by Maglula for .22LR, .25, .32 and .380 ACP single-stack magazines. Read its published non-fitting list first, which includes the Ruger MKI, MKII and MKIII.

Where this comes from

Sources

  1. Maglula, UpLULA universal pistol magazine loader product page, accessed 2026-10-10
  2. Maglula, BabyUpLULA .22LR-.380ACP pistol magazine loader product page, accessed 2026-10-10
  3. Speed Beez, Lever Loader for 9mm Mags product page, accessed 2026-10-10
  4. ETS Group, GEN II C.A.M. Loader 9mm/.40 product page, accessed 2026-10-10
  5. NSSF, Rules of Firearm Safety, accessed 2026-10-10
  6. NSSF letsgoshooting.org, New Shooters, accessed 2026-10-10

Specs come from each maker's own pages and data sheets (linked on every product); ratings like NRR and Z87+ are explained from the standards and agencies behind them. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so the buy button always takes you to the current one. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

Keep going

  • Range Basics

    Best Magazine Loaders

    Five magazine loaders for a first range kit, led by the Maglula UpLULA, plus the maker compatibility lists that decide whether a loader fits your pistol at all.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: Maglula UpLULA Pistol Magazine Loader · 5 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Maglula UpLULA Pistol Magazine Loader

  • Range Bags & Cases

    What to Put in a Range Bag

    The range bag checklist, grouped: safety gear, shooting supplies, tools, first aid, hygiene and paperwork, plus what changes indoors vs outdoors and what to leave at home.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Howard Leight Impact Sport

    $60.00Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport

  • Range Basics

    What to Bring to the Range

    The first-trip checklist: must-bring, nice-to-have and leave-at-home, what changes indoors vs outdoors, and a lighter list if you're renting or tagging along with a friend.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Howard Leight Impact Sport

    $60.00Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport

  • Range Basics

    First Time at a Shooting Range

    The whole first visit in order: calling ahead, check-in and the safety brief, hot and cold range commands, brass, and cleanup, with real range rules quoted as examples.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Howard Leight Impact Sport

    $60.00Amazon

    #ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport

More in Range Basics