Not legal advice. Transport and age rules vary by state, city and range. This page summarizes the official sources linked in the text, checked . Laws change: check your state's official guidance and your range's own rules before you rely on them.
Not medical advice. This page shares general guidance from the public-health sources linked in the text. If you're worried about your hearing or lead exposure, talk to a doctor.
Quick picks
The picks at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Allen ULTRX Children's Passive Earmuff Allen states a starting age (3 and above) with no upper limit, compliance with ANSI S3.19 and a foldable design, at NRR 23. It's the widest stated age span of any muff here. | Best for most kids (age 3 and up)NRR 23 | 6.7/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() Walker's Baby & Kid's Folding Ear Muffs The only muff whose maker states an age range starting at 6 months (Walker's says 6 months to 8 years). NRR 23, and it folds into a diaper bag. | Best for babies and toddlersNRR 23 | 6.8/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Walker's Razor Junior Passive The highest-rated standalone kids' muff we cover: NRR 25 in a Razor sized for 'smaller head sizes'. Walker's gives no age range, so judge the fit on your child rather than going by age. | Highest NRR for older kidsNRR 25 | 6.2/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small The best-documented electronic youth muff: about 350 hours from two AAAs, a 4-hour auto shut-off and NRR 22, sized 'Youth/Adult Small' so it also fits smaller adults. | Best electronic muff for young shootersNRR 22 | 6.8/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() Walker's Razor Junior Electronic An electronic muff Walker's says is 'optimized for smaller head sizes', so a young shooter can hear instruction between shots: NRR 23, AAA batteries included, no age range stated. | Electronic muff sized for young shootersNRR 23 | 6.0/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 6 | ![]() Caldwell Youth E-Max Pro Caldwell's electronic youth muff: NRR 23, three AAA batteries in the box, and 'youth sizes and colors'. Caldwell doesn't state an age range. | Electronic youth muff, batteries includedNRR 23 | 6.0/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 7 | ![]() Caldwell Youth Passive Earmuff A bright youth passive muff in Hot Coral, Neon Green or Neon Blue. We list it at NRR 23, the lower of two figures Caldwell publishes, and Caldwell states no age range. | Best bright-colored youth muffNRR 23 | 5.8/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from published specs and manuals, not hands-on tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

If you're taking a child to the range for the first time, whether to shoot or just to watch, their ear protection needs as much thought as yours. The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) lists target shooting and hunting among the recreational activities that can cause noise-induced hearing loss, notes that "people of all ages, including children, teens, young adults, and older people, can develop NIHL," and gives parents a simple instruction: "Protect the ears of children who are too young to protect their own" (NIDCD, Noise-Induced Hearing Loss).
This page ranks the best kids' ear protection for shooting: seven youth and children's muffs, each with an NRR (Noise Reduction Rating, the number on the package) published by its maker. For the rest of a family trip, from range age rules to what to pack, see taking kids to the shooting range.
How we picked
We haven't fitted these muffs on children or measured them; we compiled what each maker publishes and scored the muffs on the rubrics on our How we pick page (passive muffs on published NRR, fit, folding and comfort; electronic muffs add amplification, shut-off and battery). Every pick had to publish an NRR. 3M's Peltor kids' muff didn't make it, because we couldn't confirm a US NRR for it.
For kids, one more thing drove the ranking: a stated age. Most makers only say "youth" or "smaller head sizes," which leaves a parent guessing. Only two makers we found state an age, so they rank first and second. Allen ranks first because its stated range (3 and above) covers the most children and it states ANSI S3.19 compliance; Walker's is second as the only pick for a child under 3. The rest are ranked by what a parent is likely to need next: the highest-rated passive muff for older kids, then electronic muffs for young shooters.
Why kids need ear protection at the range
Children aren't just smaller adults when it comes to noise limits. A 2017 review by hearing researchers, including a NIOSH scientist, notes that "the World Health Organization recommends peak SPLs not exceed 140 dB for adults and 120 dB for youth," and that every rifle, pistol and shotgun it lists "exceed[s] these peak SPL limits for both adults and children" (Meinke et al., 2017). The same review reports firearm peaks of roughly 140 to 175 dB. Our how loud is a gunshot guide lays out those figures.
A child who is only watching still needs protection. ASHA (the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association) says to use hearing protection "any time you fire a gun or are around someone firing a gun" (ASHA, Recreational Firearm Noise Exposure), and the 2017 review says spectators should stand far enough back to bring peak levels below 140 dB "and below 120 dB if children are present." It also notes that "shorter barrel lengths found in both youth firearms" increase the level at the shooter's ear, so a youth-sized firearm isn't a reason to relax about hearing.
What the makers say about age and size
We only print an age when the maker states one. Here's exactly what each maker says:
| Muff | Type | Published NRR | Age or sizing, in the maker's words |
|---|---|---|---|
| Allen ULTRX Children's | Passive, foldable | 23 dB | "Designed to fit comfortably on children aged 3 and above" |
| Walker's Baby & Kid's Folding | Passive, folding | 23 dB | "Suitable from ages 6 months to 8 years" |
| Walker's Razor Junior Passive | Passive | 25 dB | "Tailored for use by young shooters or those requiring a snugger fit"; no age stated |
| Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small | Electronic | 22 dB | "Youth/Adult Small"; no age stated |
| Walker's Razor Junior Electronic | Electronic | 23 dB | "Optimized for smaller head sizes"; "ideal for young shooters"; no age stated |
| Caldwell Youth E-Max Pro | Electronic | 23 dB | "Youth sizes and colors"; no age stated |
| Caldwell Youth Passive | Passive | 23 dB (Caldwell's pages list 23 and 24; we use the lower) | Sold as a youth earmuff; no age stated |
Sources: Allen, Walker's Baby & Kid's, Walker's Razor Junior Passive, Howard Leight Youth/Adult Small, Walker's Razor Junior Electronic, Caldwell Youth E-Max Pro, and Caldwell's Youth Passive product page and safety-gear listing. When there's no age, go by fit, not by the birthday on the calendar.
The fit check to do at home
ASHA's advice for everyone applies double to kids: "Practice wearing your HPDs before being exposed to loud sounds." A living-room fitting also tells you whether the muff is comfortable enough that your child will leave it on. Before the range:
- Read the maker's instructions. The EPA label tells you to "consult the enclosed instructions for proper fit," and the NRR assumes the muff is used "as directed."
- Adjust the headband so both cushions sit fully around the ears, not on top of them.
- Clear the seal. Hair pulled back from the cushions, and no cap strap or hood underneath: the 2017 review found that "eyeglass temples, hats/caps, hoods that interfere with the seal reduce mean attenuation across test frequencies by 5 to 15 dB."
- Add their safety glasses and check the cushions still close around the temples. Thin temples help.
- Have them wear it for a while doing something normal, like watching a show. If they keep adjusting or pulling at it, try a different muff before the range, not during.
- Agree on a hand signal for "something's wrong," so they don't lift a cup to tell you.
Electronic or passive for a child?
It depends on what your child is doing at the range.
- Watching, or very young: passive. There's nothing to switch on, nothing to break, and nothing to fiddle with. The Allen, Walker's Baby & Kid's and Razor Junior Passive are all passive.
- Learning to shoot: electronic. A new shooter needs to hear an instructor and range commands without lifting a cup. Walker's says its Razor Junior Electronic is "ideal for young shooters," and the Howard Leight Youth/Adult Small has the best-documented power of the youth electronics: about 350 hours from two AAAs and a 4-hour auto shut-off, so a switch a child forgets doesn't drain the batteries. Caldwell's Youth E-Max Pro ships with three AAA batteries.
One trade-off to know: in this group, the electronic youth muffs rate NRR 22 to 23, while Walker's passive Razor Junior rates 25. For more on how electronics work, and what protects the ear when a shot goes off, see our best electronic ear muffs guide.
What about earplugs under a child's muffs?
For adults, plugs under muffs is standard advice at indoor ranges. For young children, we haven't found a public-health source we can cite that addresses earplugs, so we're not going to recommend them here. The advice we can source on doubling up is written for shooters in general, not for small children.
If you want more protection for your child than a muff gives, ask your pediatrician or an audiologist. ASHA says people "should consult an audiologist to determine which HPDs are best for them." Meanwhile, the sources do support two things you control: the 2017 review says recreational shooters "should be encouraged to shoot outdoors," and that spectators should be far enough back to keep peaks "below 120 dB if children are present." So for a first family trip, an outdoor range, with non-shooting children well back from the firing line, keeps the exposure down. Our indoor vs outdoor range guide helps you choose.
Range rules for kids vary
Every range sets its own age and supervision rules, and many require eye and ear protection for everyone present. A few examples from state-run ranges, quoted as published:
- Georgia DNR: "All children (16 years old or younger) must be accompanied and directly supervised by an adult 18 years old or older" (Georgia DNR firearm range rules).
- Mississippi MDWFP: "eye and ear protection must be worn by everyone on the entire range facility, at any time during which firearms are being discharged," unless you're inside a building or vehicle (MDWFP rules).
- Louisiana LDWF: "Children under the age of 16 must be under immediate and direct supervision by an adult at all times" (LDWF shooting ranges).
These are examples, not a summary of the law where you live. Call the range you plan to visit and ask about its age rules before you go.
Don't forget their eyes
Kids need safety glasses sized for them, too. Our best kids' shooting glasses covers youth frames with a high-impact rating. If you're tempted by a youth eye-and-ear combo, check the glasses' rating: Allen's ULTRX Sound Blocker Youth combo lists an NRR 25 muff, but its page doesn't state a Z87 rating for the glasses (Allen), so look for a Z87+ mark on the packaging. Our ear and eye protection combos compares the kits.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best for most kids (age 3 and up)
Allen ULTRX Children's Passive Earmuff
Allen states a starting age (3 and above) with no upper limit, compliance with ANSI S3.19 and a foldable design, at NRR 23. It's the widest stated age span of any muff here.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 23 dB |
|---|---|
| Ages | 3 and above ("Designed to fit comfortably on children aged 3 and above")Maker's claim |
| Folding | Yes (foldable) |
| Standard | Complies with ANSI S3.19 |
| Colors | Blue, Teal |
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Published NRR (40%)
- 6.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (25%)
- 5
- Folding & portability (15%)
- 8
- Comfort & adjustment (20%)
- 8
What the specs support
- Allen states an age: designed for children aged 3 and above
- Foldable for packing
- Allen states compliance with ANSI S3.19, the US test standard behind the NRR
Where it falls short
- NRR 23, two points under Walker's Razor Junior Passive
- No upper age or head-size range is given
Skip it if…
…your child is under 3; Allen's stated fit starts at age 3, while Walker's Baby & Kid's muff is rated from 6 months.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Allen ULTRX Children's Passive Earmuff
Rank 2

Best for babies and toddlers
Walker's Baby & Kid's Folding Ear Muffs
The only muff whose maker states an age range starting at 6 months (Walker's says 6 months to 8 years). NRR 23, and it folds into a diaper bag.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 23 dB |
|---|---|
| Ages | 6 months to 8 years ("Suitable from ages 6 months to 8 years") |
| Folding | Yes |
| Colors | Many colors |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Published NRR (40%)
- 6.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (25%)
- 5
- Folding & portability (15%)
- 8
- Comfort & adjustment (20%)
- 8.5
What the specs support
- The only muff here with a stated age range that starts at 6 months
- Folds, so it packs into a range bag or diaper bag
- Many colors, which helps siblings tell their muffs apart
Where it falls short
- Walker's rates it only up to age 8, so older kids need the next size up
- NRR 23, two points under Walker's Razor Junior Passive
- Walker's doesn't describe the cup profile or headband adjustment
Skip it if…
…your child is older than 8; Walker's rates this muff for 6 months to 8 years, so look at the Razor Junior Passive or Allen's ULTRX children's muff (age 3 and above).
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Walker's Baby & Kid's Folding Ear Muffs
Rank 3

Highest NRR for older kids
Walker's Razor Junior Passive
The highest-rated standalone kids' muff we cover: NRR 25 in a Razor sized for 'smaller head sizes'. Walker's gives no age range, so judge the fit on your child rather than going by age.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 25 dB ("NRR of 25") |
|---|---|
| Sizing | "Tailored for use by young shooters or those requiring a snugger fit"; for "smaller head sizes" |
| Ages | Not stated by Walker's |
| Batteries | None (passive earmuff) |
How the 6.2 score breaks down
- Published NRR (40%)
- 7
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (25%)
- 5
- Folding & portability (15%)
- 4.5
- Comfort & adjustment (20%)
- 7.5
What the specs support
- NRR 25, the highest of the standalone kids' muffs we cover
- Walker's also pitches it at anyone "requiring a snugger fit", so it can suit small-headed adults
- Passive: nothing for a kid to switch on or forget to switch off
Where it falls short
- No age range from Walker's, so you'll have to judge the fit yourself
- Passive, so there's no amplification to help a new shooter hear an instructor
Skip it if…
…your child needs to hear an instructor clearly during a lesson; an electronic youth muff such as the Razor Junior Electronic or the Youth/Adult Small Impact Sport suits that better.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Walker's Razor Junior Passive
Rank 4

Best electronic muff for young shooters
Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small
The best-documented electronic youth muff: about 350 hours from two AAAs, a 4-hour auto shut-off and NRR 22, sized 'Youth/Adult Small' so it also fits smaller adults.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 22 dB |
|---|---|
| Sizing | Youth/Adult Small (no age given) |
| Batteries | 2 x AAA |
| Battery life | About 350 hoursMaker's claim |
| Auto shut-off | After 4 hours |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Color | Metallic Charcoal Gray |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 6
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 5.5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 7
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 9
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 7.5
What the specs support
- 4-hour auto shut-off, so a switch a kid forgets doesn't drain the batteries
- Howard Leight quotes about 350 hours from two AAAs
- "Youth/Adult Small" sizing also covers smaller adults
Where it falls short
- NRR 22 is the lowest of the kids' muffs we cover
- No age range; "Youth/Adult Small" is the only sizing guide Howard Leight gives
Skip it if…
…your child is very young; Howard Leight gives no age for this size and it's the lowest-rated kids' muff here at NRR 22, while Walker's Baby & Kid's muff states 6 months to 8 years.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small
Rank 5

Electronic muff sized for young shooters
Walker's Razor Junior Electronic
An electronic muff Walker's says is 'optimized for smaller head sizes', so a young shooter can hear instruction between shots: NRR 23, AAA batteries included, no age range stated.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 23 dB |
|---|---|
| Batteries | AAA (included) |
| Sizing | "Optimized for smaller head sizes"; "ideal for young shooters"Maker's claim |
| Ages | Not stated by Walker's |
How the 6.0 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 6.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 6
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 5
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 7.5
What the specs support
- Sized by Walker's for "smaller head sizes" and "young shooters"
- Electronic, so a new shooter can hear instructions without lifting a cup
- AAA batteries come in the box
Where it falls short
- NRR 23, two points below the passive Razor Junior
- No age range, battery life or auto shut-off time is published by Walker's
Skip it if…
…you want the most protection a youth muff can give; at NRR 23 it's two points under Walker's own passive Razor Junior (NRR 25).
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Walker's Razor Junior Electronic
Rank 6

Electronic youth muff, batteries included
Caldwell Youth E-Max Pro
Caldwell's electronic youth muff: NRR 23, three AAA batteries in the box, and 'youth sizes and colors'. Caldwell doesn't state an age range.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 23 dB |
|---|---|
| Batteries | 3 x AAA (included) |
| Sizing | "Youth sizes and colors" |
| Ages | Not stated by Caldwell |
How the 6.0 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 6.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 6
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 5.5
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 6.5
What the specs support
- Three AAA batteries come in the box
- Electronic, so a young shooter can hear instructions between strings
- Sold in "youth sizes and colors"
Where it falls short
- No age range from Caldwell; judge the fit on your child
- Battery life and auto shut-off time aren't published by Caldwell as far as we could find
- NRR 23, two points below Walker's passive Razor Junior
Skip it if…
…you want a published battery life and auto-off timer; Caldwell doesn't give them, while the Youth/Adult Small Impact Sport lists about 350 hours and a 4-hour shut-off.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Caldwell Youth E-Max Pro
Rank 7

Best bright-colored youth muff
Caldwell Youth Passive Earmuff
A bright youth passive muff in Hot Coral, Neon Green or Neon Blue. We list it at NRR 23, the lower of two figures Caldwell publishes, and Caldwell states no age range.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 23 dB (Caldwell's product page says 24; we use the lower figure) |
|---|---|
| Colors | Hot Coral, Neon Green, Neon Blue |
| Sizing | Sold as a youth earmuff |
| Ages | Not stated by Caldwell |
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Published NRR (40%)
- 6.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (25%)
- 5
- Folding & portability (15%)
- 4.5
- Comfort & adjustment (20%)
- 6.5
What the specs support
- Three bright colors (Hot Coral, Neon Green, Neon Blue) that are easy to spot in a range bag
- Passive: no batteries for a kid to manage
- Sold specifically as a youth muff
Where it falls short
- Caldwell's own pages disagree on the NRR (24 on the product page, 23 on its safety-gear listing); we publish the lower figure
- No age range or sizing detail beyond "youth"
Skip it if…
…you want a stated age range to go by; Caldwell gives none, while Walker's (6 months to 8 years) and Allen (age 3 and above) publish one.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Caldwell Youth Passive Earmuff
What to look for in kids' ear protection
- A published NRR. Every muff here has one, from 22 to 25. Skip listings that give only an SNR, which is a European rating on a different scale.
- A stated age or size you can match. Walker's (6 months to 8 years) and Allen (3 and above) state ages. Everyone else says "youth" or "smaller head sizes," so you judge by fit.
- Passive for watchers, electronic for learners. A spectator needs nothing to switch on; a new shooter needs to hear instruction.
- Batteries, if electronic. Howard Leight's youth muff publishes battery life and a 4-hour auto shut-off; Walker's and Caldwell include batteries but don't publish either figure.
- Folding, for the bag. The Walker's Baby & Kid's and Allen ULTRX both fold.
- A color they'll recognize. Walker's Baby & Kid's comes in many colors and Caldwell's youth muffs in bright ones, which helps siblings keep theirs straight.
Mistakes parents make
- Putting an adult muff on a small head. If it slides or gaps, it isn't sealing.
- Skipping protection for a child who's only watching. ASHA's advice covers anyone "around someone firing a gun."
- Letting a cap or hood sit under the cushions. It can cost 5 to 15 dB of attenuation, per the 2017 review.
- Buying by age when the maker gives none. "Youth" isn't an age range; try the fit.
- Standing a non-shooting child right behind the line. Distance lowers what reaches them.
- Forgetting your own ear pro. Children copy what they see. Our best hearing protection for shooting covers the adults.
- Skipping the eye protection. Kids need impact-rated glasses sized for them as well as muffs.
How we scored this
Units we claim to have tested: none
Most gear sites say they tested thirty muffs. We haven't put these on a sound meter, and we say so. Every pick here is labeled Researched: we compiled each maker's published specs (the EPA-labeled NRR on hearing protection, the Z87+ mark on glasses), read the manuals, and scored everything on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and marketing claims are labeled “maker's claim.”
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
What changed
- Published. NRRs and stated ages checked on each maker's page; range age rules quoted from Georgia, Mississippi and Louisiana state ranges.
Questions
Common questions
What is the best ear protection for kids at a shooting range?
At what age can a child wear shooting ear muffs?
Do kids need ear protection if they're only watching?
Can kids use adult ear muffs for shooting?
Should my child wear earplugs under ear muffs?
Are electronic ear muffs good for kids?
Where this comes from
Sources
- NIH/NIDCD, Noise-Induced Hearing Loss, accessed 2026-09-19
- Meinke DK et al. (NIOSH co-author), Prevention of Noise-Induced Hearing Loss from Recreational Firearms, Seminars in Hearing 2017 (CDC Stacks), accessed 2026-09-19
- ASHA Audiology Information Series, Recreational Firearm Noise Exposure (2024 PDF), accessed 2026-09-19
- eCFR, 40 CFR Part 211 Subpart B, Hearing Protective Devices (EPA label rule), accessed 2026-09-19
- NIOSH Alert 2009-136, Preventing Occupational Exposures to Lead and Noise at Indoor Firing Ranges, accessed 2026-09-19
- Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division, Firearm Range Rules, accessed 2026-09-19
- Mississippi Dept. of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks, Shooting Facility Rules & Regulations, accessed 2026-09-19
- Louisiana Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries, Shooting Range Information, accessed 2026-09-19
- Allen Company, ULTRX Children's Passive Hearing Earmuff product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Allen Company, ULTRX Sound Blocker Youth Ear and Eye Protection Combo product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Walker's, Baby & Kid's Folding Ear Muffs product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Walker's, Razor Junior Passive Ear Muffs product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Walker's, Razor Junior Electronic Ear Muffs product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Sport Electronic Earmuff (Medium/Large) product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Caldwell, Youth E-MAX PRO Series product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Caldwell, Youth Passive Earmuff product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Caldwell, safety-gear listing page, accessed 2026-09-19
We haven't tested the gear on this page and we don't pretend to. Specs come from each maker's own pages and data sheets (linked on every product); ratings like NRR and Z87+ are explained from the standards and agencies behind them. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.




