Skip to content
Bench & Berm

Range Basics / Ranked picks

The best ear and eye protection combos for a first range trip

One box, both things every range asks you to wear. We ranked seven eye and ear protection kits by the muff's published NRR and, just as important, whether the maker actually states an impact rating for the glasses.

By Mike M.Updated How we pick

#adAs an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never set a score or pick a winner. How we pick · Disclosure

Quick picks

The picks at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Howard Leight Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit

The first-trip kit with the clearest glasses rating: ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact) plus CSA Z94.3 for the anti-fog clear glasses, paired with an adjustable folding NRR 25 earmuff.

Best first eye-and-ear kitNRR 257.6/10ResearchedCheck price · Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

2
Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Walker's Pro Safety Combo Kit

NRR 31 low-profile muffs plus NRR 31 foam plugs for doubling up indoors, with glasses Walker's lists as exceeding the Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement.

Best kit for indoor rangesNRR 317.9/10ResearchedCheck price · Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

3
Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Walker's EXT Safety Combo Kit

Walker's folding kit: NRR 31 folding muffs (ANSI S3.19 rated) with sport glasses listed as exceeding the Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement. Walker's lists no foam plugs, unlike the Pro kit.

Best folding eye-and-ear kitNRR 317.6/10ResearchedCheck price · Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

4
Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Caldwell E-Max Low Pro Electronic Muff with Shooting Glasses

The only electronic muff in our combo kits: an NRR 23 E-Max Low Pro with shooting glasses Caldwell says 'meet ANSI Z87.1 standards'. Buy two AAA batteries with it; they aren't included.

Best electronic eye-and-ear kitNRR 236.7/10ResearchedCheck price · Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

5
Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Champion Eyes & Ears Combo

An NRR 26 muff with clear glasses Champion rates for 'four times greater impact protection than ANSI Z87.1'. Sold as Pink/Clear, Gray/Clear or Black/Amber, the most choices of our kits.

Most color and lens choicesNRR 267.0/10ResearchedCheck price · Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

6
Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Allen ULTRX Blocker Ear & Eye Protection Combo

A black NRR 23 muff-and-glasses set that Allen says 'complies with ANSI S3.19 and ANSI Z87 ratings', with anti-fog glasses. A plain starter kit; the NRR is on the low side for indoor bays.

Simple black starter kitNRR 236.6/10ResearchedCheck price · Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

7
Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Howard Leight Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit

The women's version of Howard Leight's kit, in dusty rose with an NRR 25 adjustable earmuff. Its page doesn't state a Z87.1 rating for the glasses, unlike the standard kit's page.

Women's-fit kit (glasses rating not stated)NRR 255.8/10ResearchedCheck price · Amazon

#ad · Disclosure

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from published specs and manuals, not hands-on tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

A smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Illustrative stock photo. It doesn't show a specific product on this page.

Buying ear and eye protection for shooting as one kit makes sense for a first range trip: one box, one purchase, and both of the things every range asks you to wear. But a kit is only as good as its weaker half. Some eye and ear protection combos pair a decent muff with glasses whose maker never states an impact rating at all. This page ranks seven kits on the two things that matter most, the muff's NRR (Noise Reduction Rating, the number on the package) and the impact rating the maker states for the glasses. It also treats the two halves as one fit problem, because once they're on your head, they are.

How we picked and ranked these kits

We haven't put these kits on a sound meter or fired anything at the lenses, and we won't pretend otherwise. We compiled what each maker publishes on its own product page (the muff's NRR, the exact wording of the glasses' impact rating, and what's in the box) and scored every kit on our published combo rubric: published NRR (30%), glasses impact rating as published (30%), fit and adjustment (20%), and what's in the box (20%). The full method is on our how we pick page.

The gate is simple: every kit must publish an NRR for its muff. After that, the ranking follows what the maker says about the glasses, in three tiers:

  1. A stated high-impact rating. Howard Leight states "ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact)" for its standard kit. Walker's lists the glasses in its Pro and EXT kits as exceeding the ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement (its pages write it as "287.1", a typo). These three rank first.
  2. A Z87 statement without "high impact". Caldwell says its glasses "meet ANSI Z87.1 standards", Champion rates its clear glasses for "four times greater impact protection than ANSI Z87.1", and Allen says its kit "complies with ANSI S3.19 and ANSI Z87 ratings". That's better than silence, but none of the three names the high-impact (Z87+) level.
  3. No rating stated. Howard Leight's Women's kit page doesn't state a Z87 rating for its glasses, so it ranks last, even though its NRR 25 muff matches our #1 kit's.

Within a tier, the muff's NRR and what comes in the box set the order. That's why the rank doesn't strictly follow the score. The Walker's Pro kit scores a little higher than our #1 because its muffs and plugs are both rated NRR 31, but Howard Leight's glasses statement cites a newer edition of the standard in plainer words. For a first trip, we'd rather you be sure about your eyes and add a pack of foam plugs, which is easy.

Why eyes and ears are one fit problem

An earmuff protects you by sealing its cushion against the side of your head. Shooting glasses have temple arms that run right under that cushion. The arms hold the cushion off your skin in two spots, and any gap lets sound in.

NIOSH measured the effect. In its alert on noise and lead at indoor firing ranges, it reports: "Earmuffs with safety glasses had a peak reduction of 18dB. The mean peak reduction for earmuffs was 26dB, while earplugs alone provided a mean peak reduction of 24dB. The mean peak reduction for the combined earmuff and earplugs was 44dB." (NIOSH Alert 2009-136). Those are NIOSH's measurements from its own study, not a promise about any muff on this page, but the direction is plain: glasses under a muff cost protection, and plugs under a muff add a lot of it back.

NIOSH researchers put the same point in plain words: "Special care must be taken to ensure the earmuff remains sealed against the side of the wearer's head when safety glasses are worn" ( Murphy, Byrne and Franks, "Firearms and Hearing Protection," 2007). Here's what that means when you open a kit:

  • Try the two halves together at home. Put the glasses on first, then the muff, and press each cushion down over the arms. If you can feel a gap or hear the room clearly with the muff on, the seal is weak.
  • Thin temple arms help. Less material under the cushion means a smaller gap. None of these kit makers publish temple thickness, so this is one to judge in your hands.
  • Add foam plugs under the muff at an indoor range, or any time the seal feels loose. The Walker's Pro kit puts NRR 31 plugs in the box for exactly this reason.

Our guide to wearing ear protection with glasses goes deeper on the seal. If you wear prescription glasses, read can you wear glasses at a shooting range before you buy a kit: none of these kit makers describe their glasses as fitting over another pair.

Reading the glasses rating: Z87, Z87+ and "high impact"

ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 is the US standard for safety eyewear, and it's the one OSHA's workplace eye-protection rule points employers to (29 CFR 1910.133). ISEA, the association that administers the standard, announced the current edition, Z87.1-2025, in January 2026 (ISEA). The kits below cite older editions, which is normal for products designed before then.

Safety-eyewear maker HexArmor explains the markings: eyewear that meets the basic standard is marked "Z87", and "Z87+ means that the eyewear meets a higher impact standard and goes through a much tougher set of tests than Z87." In the high-velocity test for safety glasses, a quarter-inch steel ball "is shot at a speed of 102mph". You'll usually find the mark "either on the sidearm of the frames or on the right side of the lens" ( HexArmor). That "+" is what shooters mean by Z87+, and it's the mark to look for. When a maker writes "High Impact" next to Z87.1, it's describing that higher level. When it writes only "Z87" or "Z87.1", it may mean the basic level.

Here's exactly what each kit's maker says, side by side:

KitMuff NRRWhat the maker says about the glassesOur read
Howard Leight Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit25"ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact)", plus CSA Z94.3; anti-fogHigh-impact rating stated
Walker's Pro Safety Combo Kit31 (foam plugs also 31)Exceeds the "ANSI 287.1-2003 high impact requirement" (Walker's typo for Z87.1)High-impact rating stated, older edition
Walker's EXT Safety Combo Kit31Same wording as the Pro kitHigh-impact rating stated, older edition
Caldwell E-Max Low Pro with Shooting Glasses23 (electronic)"Shooting glasses meet ANSI Z87.1 standards"Z87.1 stated; high impact not mentioned
Champion Eyes & Ears Combo26The clear glasses "are rated for four times greater impact protection than ANSI Z87.1"A comparison claim; no Z87+ mark named
Allen ULTRX Blocker Combo23"Complies with ANSI S3.19 and ANSI Z87 ratings"; anti-fogZ87 stated; edition and high impact not named
Howard Leight Women's Combo Kit25No Z87 rating stated on the pageNot stated; check the frame and packaging

Whatever a page says, check the frame when the box arrives. If you can't find a Z87+ mark on the arm or the lens, treat the rating as unconfirmed. Our Z87 vs Z87+ explainer covers every marking in more detail.

What the muff's NRR tells you

The NRR is a lab number the EPA requires on every hearing protector's label. The EPA's rule defines it as "a single number noise reduction factor in decibels," and the label has to carry the phrase "(When used as directed)". Higher numbers mean more protection, and the label states that the range for existing protectors is "approximately 0 to 30" ( 40 CFR Part 211, Subpart B).

Two caveats matter at a range. First, the same EPA rule requires a warning that the NRR "is based on the attenuation of continuous noise and may not be an accurate indicator of the protection attainable against impulsive noise such as gunfire." Second, as NIOSH's numbers above show, the rating assumes a good seal, and glasses arms weaken it.

So read the kits' NRRs as a ranking, not a promise. The Walker's kits (NRR 31) out-rate Champion (26), both Howard Leight kits (25), and Caldwell and Allen (23). Outdoors, any of them is a reasonable start. Indoors, ASHA's consumer guide on firearm noise advises choosing a range "that has been acoustically treated for reverberation (i.e., sound bouncing off the walls)" and to "wear double hearing protection" (ASHA). In practice, that means foam plugs under whichever muff you pick. Our guide to what NRR you need for shooting walks through the numbers, and double hearing protection explains how to stack plugs and muffs.

Passive or electronic muff in a kit?

Six of these seven kits come with passive muffs: cushions and cups, no batteries. The Caldwell E-Max kit is the exception. ASHA describes how electronic protectors work: they "allow for sounds to pass through that are soft or average in volume but detect when there is a loud noise. The device then becomes hearing protection."

For a beginner, that matters most during the range brief and whenever a range officer calls a command. With passive muffs, you may be tempted to lift a cup to hear, which leaves that ear open if a shot goes off next to you. The trade-offs: the Caldwell muff is NRR 23, it runs on two AAA batteries that Caldwell doesn't include, and researchers writing with NIOSH note that for impulses above 150 dB, "the passive attenuation characteristics of the electronic protector (i.e., electronics turned off) will determine the attenuation" ( Meinke et al., 2017). The electronics help you hear; the NRR still does the protecting.

If you want electronics and a stronger rating than any kit here offers, buy the halves separately. Our best electronic ear muffs for shooting ranks muffs up to NRR 30, and electronic vs passive ear muffs lays out whether the upgrade is worth it for you.

A kit or separate ear and eye pro?

A combo kit is the right call when you want one purchase that covers a first trip, or a spare set for a friend or family member who comes along to watch. NRA's published safety rules say "shooting glasses and hearing protection should be worn by shooters and spectators" ( NRA Gun Safety Rules), so anyone standing behind the line needs a set too, and a kit is an easy way to have one ready.

Buy the halves separately when one of them matters more to you:

  • You'll mostly shoot indoors. Pair a high-NRR muff with foam plugs. See our ear protection for indoor ranges.
  • You wear prescription glasses. You need an over-the-glasses frame, which no kit here describes. See shooting glasses for glasses wearers.
  • You want a stated ballistic rating (MIL-PRF-32432) or a choice of lens tints. We found no ballistic claim for any kit's glasses.

Our best hearing protection for shooting and best shooting glasses roundups are the upgrade path, and every pair of glasses in the latter carries a stated Z87+ rating. Building a whole first kit, bag and targets included? Start with our first range kit.

Kits for women and for kids

Howard Leight sells a Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit in dusty rose, with women's clear safety glasses and an NRR 25 adjustable earmuff. It's on our list, but last, for one reason: the standard kit's page states ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact), and the Women's kit page doesn't state a rating for its glasses at all. If the fit appeals to you, look for a Z87+ mark on the frame and packaging before you rely on them. Champion's Pink/Clear option is another lighter-colored choice, with the comparison claim quoted above.

For kids, Allen sells the ULTRX Sound Blocker Youth combo with an NRR 25 muff in one size ("OSFM"). Allen's page gives no Z87 rating for the youth glasses and no age range, so we don't rank it here. A parent is better served by a youth muff plus separately rated small-fit glasses: see kids ear protection, kids shooting glasses and our guide to taking kids to the shooting range.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Stock photo

Best first eye-and-ear kit

Howard Leight Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit

NRR 25Researched7.6/10

The first-trip kit with the clearest glasses rating: ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact) plus CSA Z94.3 for the anti-fog clear glasses, paired with an adjustable folding NRR 25 earmuff.

How the 7.6 score breaks down
Published NRR (30%)
7
Glasses impact rating as published (30%)
9
Fit & adjustment (20%)
7
What's in the box (20%)
7

What the specs support

  • Glasses carry a stated ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact) rating, plus CSA Z94.3
  • Anti-fog coating on the clear lenses
  • Adjustable, folding NRR 25 earmuff

Where it falls short

  • NRR 25 trails Walker's combo muffs (NRR 31); add foam plugs at a loud indoor range
  • Clear lenses only in this kit

Skip it if…

you shoot at an indoor range and want the kit to cover the noise without extra plugs; the Walker's Pro and EXT kits list NRR 31 muffs.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Stock photo

Best kit for indoor ranges

Walker's Pro Safety Combo Kit

NRR 31Researched7.9/10

NRR 31 low-profile muffs plus NRR 31 foam plugs for doubling up indoors, with glasses Walker's lists as exceeding the Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement.

How the 7.9 score breaks down
Published NRR (30%)
9
Glasses impact rating as published (30%)
7.5
Fit & adjustment (20%)
5.5
What's in the box (20%)
9

What the specs support

  • Muffs and foam plugs both list NRR 31, the highest muff rating in any kit we cover
  • Foam plugs in the box, so you can double up at a loud indoor range
  • Low-profile muffs

Where it falls short

  • Walker's cites the older 2003 edition of Z87.1, and its page writes it as "287.1"
  • A muff's NRR is a lab figure; glasses temples under the cushions can lower it, so thin temples help

Skip it if…

you want glasses rated to a recent edition of Z87.1; Walker's cites 2003, while Howard Leight's standard kit states Z87.1-2015 (High Impact).

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Walker's Pro Safety Combo Kit

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Stock photo

Best folding eye-and-ear kit

Walker's EXT Safety Combo Kit

NRR 31Researched7.6/10

Walker's folding kit: NRR 31 folding muffs (ANSI S3.19 rated) with sport glasses listed as exceeding the Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement. Walker's lists no foam plugs, unlike the Pro kit.

How the 7.6 score breaks down
Published NRR (30%)
9
Glasses impact rating as published (30%)
7.5
Fit & adjustment (20%)
6
What's in the box (20%)
7

What the specs support

  • NRR 31 folding muffs, tied for the highest muff rating in any kit we cover
  • Folds for the range bag
  • Glasses listed as exceeding the ANSI Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement

Where it falls short

  • Walker's cites the 2003 edition of Z87.1 and writes it as "287.1" on its page
  • No foam plugs are listed in this kit; the Pro Safety Combo Kit adds them

Skip it if…

you want plugs in the same box for doubling up indoors; the Walker's Pro Safety Combo Kit includes NRR 31 foam plugs.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Walker's EXT Safety Combo Kit

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Stock photo

Best electronic eye-and-ear kit

Caldwell E-Max Low Pro Electronic Muff with Shooting Glasses

NRR 23Researched6.7/10

The only electronic muff in our combo kits: an NRR 23 E-Max Low Pro with shooting glasses Caldwell says 'meet ANSI Z87.1 standards'. Buy two AAA batteries with it; they aren't included.

How the 6.7 score breaks down
Published NRR (30%)
6.5
Glasses impact rating as published (30%)
7.5
Fit & adjustment (20%)
5.5
What's in the box (20%)
7

What the specs support

  • Electronic muff, so you can hear range commands and conversation between strings
  • Caldwell states the glasses meet ANSI Z87.1
  • One purchase covers eyes and ears for a first range trip

Where it falls short

  • NRR 23 is well under Walker's NRR 31 kits
  • Batteries aren't included, and Caldwell doesn't state the lens color

Skip it if…

you shoot at a loud indoor range and want the kit to handle it alone; NRR 23 is modest, so plan on foam plugs underneath or pick a Walker's NRR 31 kit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Caldwell E-Max Low Pro Electronic Muff with Shooting Glasses

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Stock photo

Most color and lens choices

Champion Eyes & Ears Combo

NRR 26Researched7.0/10

An NRR 26 muff with clear glasses Champion rates for 'four times greater impact protection than ANSI Z87.1'. Sold as Pink/Clear, Gray/Clear or Black/Amber, the most choices of our kits.

How the 7.0 score breaks down
Published NRR (30%)
7.5
Glasses impact rating as published (30%)
7.5
Fit & adjustment (20%)
5.5
What's in the box (20%)
7

What the specs support

  • NRR 26, one point above the Howard Leight kits
  • Champion rates the clear glasses for "four times greater impact protection than ANSI Z87.1"
  • Three color and lens options: Pink/Clear, Black/Amber, Gray/Clear

Where it falls short

  • Champion's impact wording names the clear glasses; confirm the rating on the Black/Amber version's packaging
  • Champion doesn't describe headband or frame adjustment

Skip it if…

you want the glasses rated with a standard mark rather than a comparison; Champion describes its glasses relative to Z87.1, while Howard Leight's kit states ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact).

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Champion Eyes & Ears Combo

Rank 6

Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Stock photo

Simple black starter kit

Allen ULTRX Blocker Ear & Eye Protection Combo

NRR 23Researched6.6/10

A black NRR 23 muff-and-glasses set that Allen says 'complies with ANSI S3.19 and ANSI Z87 ratings', with anti-fog glasses. A plain starter kit; the NRR is on the low side for indoor bays.

Published specsResearched · not tested by us

NRR23 dB (earmuffs)
Impact rating"Complies with ANSI S3.19 and ANSI Z87 ratings"
Anti-fogYes
ColorBlack
IncludesEarmuffs and glasses
How the 6.6 score breaks down
Published NRR (30%)
6.5
Glasses impact rating as published (30%)
7
Fit & adjustment (20%)
5.5
What's in the box (20%)
7

What the specs support

  • Allen states compliance with both ANSI S3.19 (hearing) and ANSI Z87 (eyes)
  • Anti-fog glasses
  • Part of Allen's ULTRX line, which also has a youth combo and a children's muff

Where it falls short

  • NRR 23, tied with Caldwell's kit for the lowest adult-kit rating here
  • Allen's wording doesn't name a Z87.1 edition or a High Impact (Z87+) mark

Skip it if…

you need the glasses' rating spelled out as Z87.1 High Impact; Allen says only 'ANSI Z87', while Howard Leight's standard kit states Z87.1-2015 (High Impact).

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Allen ULTRX Blocker Ear & Eye Protection Combo

Rank 7

Illustrative stock photo: a smiling woman adjusting red safety glasses with yellow earmuffs around her neck
Stock photo

Women's-fit kit (glasses rating not stated)

Howard Leight Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit

NRR 25Researched5.8/10

The women's version of Howard Leight's kit, in dusty rose with an NRR 25 adjustable earmuff. Its page doesn't state a Z87.1 rating for the glasses, unlike the standard kit's page.

How the 5.8 score breaks down
Published NRR (30%)
7
Glasses impact rating as published (30%)
3
Fit & adjustment (20%)
7
What's in the box (20%)
7

What the specs support

  • Safety glasses sold as a women's fit
  • Adjustable NRR 25 earmuff
  • Dusty rose color

Where it falls short

  • No Z87.1 rating is stated for the glasses on Howard Leight's page; look for a Z87+ mark on the packaging
  • NRR 25 is modest for a loud indoor range; add foam plugs underneath

Skip it if…

you want the glasses' impact rating confirmed before you buy; the standard Shooting Sports kit's page states ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact) and this one doesn't.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit

What to look for in an ear and eye protection combo

  1. A stated impact rating for the glasses, ideally "High Impact" or Z87+. Read the maker's exact words, then find the mark on the frame when it arrives. A plain "Z87" claim isn't the same as the high-impact level.
  2. A published NRR for the muff. Every kit here has one, from 23 to 31. The higher numbers help most at indoor ranges.
  3. Plugs in the box, or a plan for them. Only the Walker's Pro kit lists foam plugs. For the rest, add a pack from our best earplugs for shooting.
  4. Anti-fog, if you'll shoot in heat, cold or humidity. Howard Leight's standard kit and Allen's kit list anti-fog lenses; the other pages don't mention it. Our guide to stopping shooting glasses from fogging has fixes for the rest.
  5. A lens color for where you shoot. Honeywell's Uvex lens guide, written for workplace eyewear, recommends clear lenses where "normal to low light conditions exist" and gray for outdoor work "where sunlight and glare causes eyestrain and fatigue" ( Uvex tint guide). Most kits here are clear; Champion's Black/Amber option is the only tinted lens a kit maker names, and Uvex recommends amber for "indoor and low light environments", not bright sun. See our lens color guide.
  6. Folding, for the range bag. Walker's EXT muffs fold, and Howard Leight describes its standard kit's muff as an adjustable folding earmuff.
  7. Batteries, for the electronic kit. Caldwell's E-Max needs two AAA batteries, not included. Buy them with the kit.

Beginner mistakes with combo kits

  • Assuming "shooting glasses" in a kit means Z87+. Of the eight kits we looked at, two pages state no Z87 rating for their glasses at all: Howard Leight's Women's kit and Allen's youth kit.
  • Wearing thick glasses arms under the muff and calling it sealed. NIOSH measured 18 dB of peak reduction for muffs worn with safety glasses against a 26 dB mean for muffs alone. Check the seal, and add plugs if it's weak.
  • Skipping plugs indoors. ASHA advises double protection at indoor ranges, and some ranges go further. Triangle Shooting Academy in North Carolina, for example, requires muffs and says "Ear plugs are not considered to be sufficient ear protection" (Triangle Shooting Academy). Rules vary, so check your range's.
  • Lifting a cup to hear the range officer. If you can't hear commands through passive muffs, an electronic muff is the fix, not an open ear on a hot line.
  • Counting on everyday prescription glasses. The same North Carolina range accepts prescription eyeglasses as "an approved replacement for standard eye protection", but that's one range's policy, not an impact rating. OSHA's workplace rule asks for eyewear that incorporates the prescription or fits over it without disturbing either lens.
  • Buying one adult kit for the whole family. None of the adult kits here lists youth sizing. Buy kids their own ear and eye pro, sized for them.

How we scored this

Units we claim to have tested: none

Most gear sites say they tested thirty muffs. We haven't put these on a sound meter, and we say so. Every pick here is labeled Researched: we compiled each maker's published specs (the EPA-labeled NRR on hearing protection, the Z87+ mark on glasses), read the manuals, and scored everything on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and marketing claims are labeled “maker's claim.”

Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.

Questions

Common questions

Are the glasses in ear and eye protection combos good enough for shooting?
It depends on what the maker states. Howard Leight's standard kit states ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact), and Walker's kits list the Z87.1-2003 high-impact requirement. Caldwell, Champion and Allen use weaker wording, and two kit pages we checked state no rating at all. Look for a Z87+ mark on the frame or lens; the "+" means the high-impact level.
What NRR should an ear and eye protection kit have?
There's no official minimum for recreational shooting, and the EPA notes the NRR may not reflect protection against gunfire. The kits here run from NRR 23 to 31. Higher helps, but a good seal matters as much. Indoors, wear foam plugs under any of them. Our NRR guide explains the numbers.
Do I still need earplugs with a combo kit?
At an indoor range, yes: ASHA advises double hearing protection indoors, meaning plugs under your muffs. The Walker's Pro Safety Combo Kit includes NRR 31 foam plugs; for the other kits, add a pack. Outdoors, plugs are still worth having if your glasses arms break the muff's seal.
Are Walker's combo kit glasses Z87 rated?
Walker's pages for the Pro and EXT kits say the sport glasses exceed the "ANSI 287.1-2003 high impact requirement". That's a typo for Z87.1, the US safety-eyewear standard, and it cites the 2003 edition. It's a high-impact claim, so we rank both kits in our top tier. Check the frame for the Z87+ mark when yours arrives.
Can I wear a combo kit over my prescription glasses?
None of the kit makers here describe their glasses as fitting over another pair. If you wear prescription glasses, look at an over-the-glasses frame with a published fit and a Z87+ rating; our picks for glasses wearers list them. Then pair it with a muff from any kit and check the seal.
Is an electronic ear and eye combo worth it for a beginner?
It can be. Caldwell's E-Max kit is the only electronic one we cover, and electronics make range briefs and commands easier to hear. The catch is a lower NRR (23) and two AAA batteries you buy separately. If you want electronics with more protection, pair a separate electronic muff with Z87+ glasses.

Where this comes from

Sources

  1. Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit product page, accessed 2026-09-19
  2. Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit product page, accessed 2026-09-19
  3. Walker's, Pro Safety Combo Kit (GWP-FPM1GFP) product page, accessed 2026-09-19
  4. Walker's, EXT Safety Combo Kit (GWP-FM3GFP) product page, accessed 2026-09-19
  5. Champion (primos.com), Eyes & Ears Combo product page, accessed 2026-09-19
  6. Caldwell, E-Max Low Pro Elec. Muff w/Shooting Glasses product page, accessed 2026-09-19
  7. Allen Company, ULTRX Blocker Ear & Eye Protection Combo product page, accessed 2026-09-19
  8. Allen Company, ULTRX Sound Blocker Youth Ear and Eye Protection Combo product page, accessed 2026-09-19
  9. HexArmor, "Safety eyewear: What do lens markings and ANSI Z87+ mean?", accessed 2026-09-19
  10. ISEA, "ISEA Releases Updated ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 Standard for Eye and Face Protection" (January 8, 2026), accessed 2026-09-19
  11. OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.133, Eye and face protection, accessed 2026-09-19
  12. eCFR, 40 CFR Part 211 Subpart B, Hearing Protective Devices, accessed 2026-09-19
  13. NIOSH Alert 2009-136, Preventing Occupational Exposures to Lead and Noise at Indoor Firing Ranges, accessed 2026-09-19
  14. Murphy WJ, Byrne DC, Franks JR (NIOSH), "Firearms and Hearing Protection," The Hearing Review, 2007 (CDC Stacks), accessed 2026-09-19
  15. Meinke DK et al., "Prevention of Noise-Induced Hearing Loss from Recreational Firearms," Seminars in Hearing, 2017 (CDC Stacks), accessed 2026-09-19
  16. ASHA, Recreational Firearm Noise Exposure (Audiology Information Series, 2024), accessed 2026-09-19
  17. NRA, NRA Gun Safety Rules, accessed 2026-09-19
  18. Honeywell Uvex, Ultra-spec 2000 / SCT Filters and Tints lens guide (PDF), accessed 2026-09-19
  19. Triangle Shooting Academy, Dress Code (range rules example), accessed 2026-09-19

We haven't tested the gear on this page and we don't pretend to. Specs come from each maker's own pages and data sheets (linked on every product); ratings like NRR and Z87+ are explained from the standards and agencies behind them. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

Keep going

  • Range Basics

    Your First Range Kit

    One pick per kit slot for a first-time shooter, from ear and eye protection through targets and cleaning, with a clear split between day-one gear and what can wait.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: Howard Leight Impact Sport · 8 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport

  • Ear Protection

    Best Hearing Protection

    Six ear pro picks for new shooters, from the NRR 22 Impact Sport electronic muff to NRR 33 foam plugs, with the NRR on the box explained in plain English.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: Howard Leight Impact Sport · 6 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport

  • Eye Protection

    Best Shooting Glasses

    Six shooting glasses that clear the Z87+ high-impact gate, led by the Pyramex Intruder, plus which lens tint to pick and how glasses affect your earmuff seal.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Top pick: Pyramex Intruder · 6 ranked

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Pyramex Intruder

  • Ear Protection

    Ear Protection With Glasses

    Glasses temples under ear muff cushions let sound leak in: NIOSH measured 18 dB of peak reduction for muffs worn with safety glasses, against 26 dB without. Thin temples, a strap and foam plugs fix it.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Howard Leight Impact Sport

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport

  • Eye Protection

    Z87 vs Z87+

    Z87 means a pair passed the basic impact test in ANSI/ISEA Z87.1; Z87+ means it also passed the high-impact tests. Why shooters should look for the plus, and where to find it.

    By Mike M. · Updated September 2026

    Featured pick: Pyramex Intruder

    Check price · Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Pyramex Intruder

More in Range Basics