Quick picks
The picks at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Pyramex OTS The pair we would start with: Pyramex publishes the exact frame size it fits over, states the Z87.1-2020 high-impact rating, and offers an H2X anti-fog version. | Best first OTG pairZ87+ | 7.1/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() 3M SecureFit 3700 OTG Series An adjustable over-the-glasses frame with a named anti-fog: 3M says the lenses meet ANSI Z87.1-2015 as an Impact Rated Spectacle, and some models carry Scotchgard Anti-Fog. | Best if the fit needs adjustingZ87+ | 7.4/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Pyramex OTS XL The same idea as the OTS with a bigger opening: Pyramex publishes a 151 by 49 mm fit-over limit, the largest number any maker here states. | Best for large prescription framesZ87+ | 7.1/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() Edge Eyewear Ossa OTG An over-the-glasses pair with a published width: Edge says the Ossa OTG is ANSI Z87.1+ compliant and takes prescription frames up to 135 mm wide. | Best published frame measurementsZ87+ | 6.2/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() Howard Leight HL100 Series OTG Glasses An over-the-glasses pair from a hearing-protection brand: Howard Leight states ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact), a single polycarbonate lens and indirect vents to help prevent fogging. | Best vented pair for fogZ87+ | 6.2/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 6 | ![]() Edge Super 64 OTG An over-the-glasses goggle with a ballistic rating: Edge lists MIL-PRF 32432-A and ANSI Z87.1+ (Z87+ high impact), plus Vapor Shield anti-fog and a TPR gasket. | Best fit-over goggleZ87+ | 7.9/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from published specs and manuals, not hands-on tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Wearing prescription glasses at a range creates a problem the usual roundups skip. Your everyday glasses carry no impact rating, so they are not eye protection. Ordinary safety glasses do not fit over them. What you want is an over-the-glasses pair, usually sold as OTG, built with a deeper, wider frame that goes on over your own.
Every pick below clears the same gate we use across this site: its maker states the high-impact level of ANSI Z87.1 on its own page, and each card links that page. Beyond the rating, the deciding question for OTG glasses is boring and specific. Will they physically go over the frames you own? Several makers publish that number. Most do not. We ranked accordingly.
Measure your glasses first
Do this before you read the picks. Take your prescription glasses off, lay them flat, and measure the total width across the front, temple hinge to temple hinge, and the height of one lens at its tallest point. Write both numbers down in millimeters.
How we picked
We have not worn these over prescription glasses at a range, and we are not going to pretend otherwise. What we did instead: read each maker's own product page or brochure, drop any pair whose maker does not state the high-impact level of ANSI/ISEA Z87.1, then score the survivors on our published eye-protection rubric, which weights a ballistic claim at 20%, lens options at 20%, fit at 30% and coatings at 30%. The weights and the reasoning are on how we pick gear.
Then we applied one extra rule for this page, because it is the whole point of OTG: a pair that publishes the prescription-frame size it fits over ranks above an otherwise similar pair that leaves you guessing. The Pyramex OTS ranks first on that basis even though two pairs here score higher on the rubric. The rubric rewards ballistic claims and coatings. A glasses wearer needs to know it will fit before any of that matters.
The gate cut pairs we would otherwise have included. Radians' Chief OTG page, for instance, does not state a fit-over size (Radians Chief OTG), so it is not ranked here. That is not a verdict on the glasses. It means the maker publishes less than the makers below do.
The six picks side by side
Every value comes from the maker's own page or brochure and links to it. A dash means the figure is not in the sources we cite, not that the feature is missing.
Who publishes a fit-over size
This is the split that matters most, so here it is on its own:
- Pyramex OTS — frames up to 5 3/8 in by 1 3/4 in (137 by 44 mm), width and height (Pyramex OTS page).
- Pyramex OTS XL — frames up to 5 15/16 in by 1 15/16 in (151 by 49 mm), the largest stated here (Pyramex OTS XL page).
- Edge Ossa OTG — prescription frames "up to 135mm wide," width only, plus full frame dimensions for the OTG itself (Edge Ossa OTG page).
- 3M SecureFit 3700 OTG, Howard Leight HL100, Edge Super 64 OTG — no fit-over measurement published. The HL100 page says only that it will "fit over most prescription eyewear."
If your glasses are on the larger side, that list is effectively your shortlist: OTS XL first, then OTS, then Ossa. If your frames are small, every pick here is in play and you can decide on coatings and lens color instead.
Fog: the real problem with two lenses
Two lenses trap more warm air than one, so OTG pairs fog more readily than ordinary safety glasses. Makers answer that in two different ways, and it is worth knowing which you are buying.
Coatings. Pyramex offers an H2X anti-fog version of both OTS models. 3M puts its Scotchgard Anti-Fog coating on some SecureFit 3700 models and says it "resists fogging longer... up to 25 washings with water," which is 3M's claim rather than our measurement. Edge lists Vapor Shield anti-fog on the Super 64 OTG.
Venting. The Howard Leight HL100 takes the other route: its page says it "includes indirect vents to help prevent fogging." Vents move air rather than treating the lens surface.
Whichever you pick, the thing not to do is take the glasses off to wipe them on a live firing line. 3M puts it plainly for workplaces in its anti-fog brochure: "Removing eyewear to wipe away fog can expose eyes to potentially dangerous workplace impact hazards and debris" (3M Scotchgard brochure). Our guide to fogging covers what actually helps.
Three things on your head at once
A glasses wearer stacks three items: prescription frames, an OTG pair over them, and earmuffs over both. The arms of two pairs of glasses under a muff cushion is the worst case for the muff's seal, and the seal is what the muff's rating depends on.
NIOSH measured the cost of even one pair: "Earmuffs with safety glasses had a peak reduction of 18dB," against a mean of 26 dB for earmuffs alone (NIOSH 2009-136). Two pairs of temples is more intrusion, not less.
Two practical answers. Pick an OTG pair with flat, thin temples rather than thick sporty ones. And consider foam earplugs under your muffs, which sidesteps the seal problem entirely because the plugs are inside your ear canal. Both are covered in ear protection with glasses.
The alternative: prescription safety glasses
OTG is not the only route. You can have safety lenses made to your prescription, which removes the stacking problem completely. It costs more, takes an optician, and means a second pair to keep track of. We have not covered specific prescription programs on this site yet, so we are not going to recommend one.
If you want the short version of the trade-off, plus what range staff typically say about wearing your own glasses, read can you wear glasses at a shooting range.
Which pick fits your situation
- You want one pair and no research. Pyramex OTS, in the H2X anti-fog version, if your frames measure under 137 by 44 mm.
- Your frames are large. Pyramex OTS XL. Its published 151 mm limit is the widest any maker here states.
- You want to adjust the fit. 3M SecureFit 3700 OTG, with ratchet temples and a low-nose-bridge model in the series.
- You want every dimension published. Edge Ossa OTG, which lists its own height, lens width and temple length as well as the 135 mm frame limit.
- You fog up in humidity. Howard Leight HL100 for venting, or a coated pair from the list above.
- You want a sealed goggle. Edge Super 64 OTG, the only pick here that lists MIL-PRF 32432-A alongside Z87.1+.
What to look for
- A stated high-impact rating. "Meets ANSI Z87.1" on its own is the basic level. The wording you want is Z87+, "High Impact," or 3M's "Impact Rated Spectacle." HexArmor describes one of the high-velocity tests as a quarter-inch steel ball at 102 mph. The full explainer is in Z87 vs Z87+.
- A published fit-over size, checked against the two measurements you took above.
- Thin, flat temples, so your earmuffs still seal.
- An anti-fog option, named by the maker rather than implied.
- The right lens for your range. Clear indoors. Tinted only for outdoor sun. See the lens color guide.
Mistakes glasses wearers make
- Treating prescription glasses as eye protection. Everyday lenses carry no impact rating. The NRA's safety rules note that guns "can also emit debris and hot gasses that could cause eye injury," and NSSF's rule 7 says "adequate vision protection is essential." Neither names a standard, which is why we use Z87+ as the line. It is the high-impact level of the standard OSHA's workplace rule points to (29 CFR 1910.133).
- Buying an OTG pair without measuring. The single most common reason a pair goes back.
- Perching safety glasses on top of prescription frames. If they are riding on your own glasses rather than sitting around them, they will move when you do.
- Forgetting the muff seal. Two sets of temples under a cushion is a real reduction in protection, and the fix is plugs underneath.
- Assuming the range will lend you a pair that fits over glasses. Some ranges supply eye protection and some do not, and OTG loaners are less common still. Mississippi's state ranges, for example, require eye and ear protection to "be worn by everyone on the entire range facility, at any time during which firearms are being discharged" ( MDWFP range rules). Bring your own.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best first OTG pair
Pyramex OTS
The pair we would start with: Pyramex publishes the exact frame size it fits over, states the Z87.1-2020 high-impact rating, and offers an H2X anti-fog version.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| Impact rating | ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2020 + High Impact |
|---|---|
| Fits over | Frames up to 5 3/8 in W x 1 3/4 in H (137 mm x 44 mm) |
| Lenses | Clear, gray, I/O mirror |
| Anti-fog | H2X anti-fog option |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Ballistic rating (MIL-PRF-32432) (20%)
- 5
- Lens options & tints (20%)
- 6.5
- Fit: OTG, youth, thin temples (30%)
- 9
- Anti-fog & scratch coating (30%)
- 7
What the specs support
- Publishes the largest prescription frame it fits over, so you can measure first
- Pyramex states the Z87.1-2020 high-impact rating
- H2X anti-fog option
Where it falls short
- No MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic claim on Pyramex's page
- Three lens tints only
- Frames wider than 137 mm won't fit, by Pyramex's own numbers
Skip it if…
…your prescription frames are wider than 137 mm (5 3/8 in) or taller than 44 mm (1 3/4 in); Pyramex's published limit says they won't fit.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Pyramex OTS
Rank 2

Best if the fit needs adjusting
3M SecureFit 3700 OTG Series
An adjustable over-the-glasses frame with a named anti-fog: 3M says the lenses meet ANSI Z87.1-2015 as an Impact Rated Spectacle, and some models carry Scotchgard Anti-Fog.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Ballistic rating (MIL-PRF-32432) (20%)
- 5
- Lens options & tints (20%)
- 8
- Fit: OTG, youth, thin temples (30%)
- 7.5
- Anti-fog & scratch coating (30%)
- 8.5
What the specs support
- 3M rates the lenses as an Impact Rated Spectacle under ANSI Z87.1-2015
- Scotchgard Anti-Fog option that 3M says lasts up to 25 washings (maker's claim)
- Ratchet temples, plus brow-guard and low-nose-bridge models
- Six lens colors across the series
Where it falls short
- 3M doesn't publish the largest frame it fits over
- Specs come from an undated 3M brochure; the current 3M product page couldn't be reached
- No MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic claim in 3M's brochure
Skip it if…
…you want to check the fit on paper first; 3M doesn't publish fit-over dimensions, while Pyramex does for the OTS and OTS XL.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to 3M SecureFit 3700 OTG Series
Rank 3

Best for large prescription frames
Pyramex OTS XL
The same idea as the OTS with a bigger opening: Pyramex publishes a 151 by 49 mm fit-over limit, the largest number any maker here states.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Ballistic rating (MIL-PRF-32432) (20%)
- 5
- Lens options & tints (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit: OTG, youth, thin temples (30%)
- 9.5
- Anti-fog & scratch coating (30%)
- 7
What the specs support
- Publishes the largest fit-over size of any pair here (151 x 49 mm)
- Pyramex states the Z87.1-2020 high-impact rating
- Ratcheting temples, per Pyramex
- H2X anti-fog option
Where it falls short
- Clear and gray lenses only
- A no-anti-fog version is also sold, so check for H2X on the listing
- No MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic claim on Pyramex's page
Skip it if…
…your prescription frames fit inside the regular OTS limit (137 x 44 mm); the regular OTS also adds an I/O mirror lens.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Pyramex OTS XL
Rank 4

Best published frame measurements
Edge Eyewear Ossa OTG
An over-the-glasses pair with a published width: Edge says the Ossa OTG is ANSI Z87.1+ compliant and takes prescription frames up to 135 mm wide.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
How the 6.2 score breaks down
- Ballistic rating (MIL-PRF-32432) (20%)
- 5
- Lens options & tints (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit: OTG, youth, thin temples (30%)
- 9
- Anti-fog & scratch coating (30%)
- 4.5
What the specs support
- States ANSI Z87.1+ and publishes the widest prescription frame it takes
- Full frame measurements are published, so you can compare against your glasses
- Clear and smoke lenses
Where it falls short
- The clear version was out of stock on Edge's store on 2026-09-19 (smoke was available)
- An anti-fog coating isn't among the specs we could confirm
- Only a width limit is given for your glasses, not a height limit
Skip it if…
…your prescription frames are wider than 135 mm; by Edge's own number they won't fit, so look at the Pyramex OTS XL (up to 151 mm).
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Edge Eyewear Ossa OTG
Rank 5

Best vented pair for fog
Howard Leight HL100 Series OTG Glasses
An over-the-glasses pair from a hearing-protection brand: Howard Leight states ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact), a single polycarbonate lens and indirect vents to help prevent fogging.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
How the 6.2 score breaks down
- Ballistic rating (MIL-PRF-32432) (20%)
- 5
- Lens options & tints (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit: OTG, youth, thin temples (30%)
- 7
- Anti-fog & scratch coating (30%)
- 6.5
What the specs support
- States ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact) on the maker page
- Indirect vents to help prevent fogging
- Clear or amber lens
- Integral side shields
Where it falls short
- Fit-over dimensions aren't published
- Venting is the only fog help we could confirm; an anti-fog coating isn't among the published specs we found
- No MIL-PRF-32432 ballistic claim
Skip it if…
…your glasses fog badly in humid weather; the HL100's published fog help is venting, while the Pyramex OTS offers an H2X anti-fog option.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight HL100 Series OTG Glasses
Rank 6

Best fit-over goggle
Edge Super 64 OTG
An over-the-glasses goggle with a ballistic rating: Edge lists MIL-PRF 32432-A and ANSI Z87.1+ (Z87+ high impact), plus Vapor Shield anti-fog and a TPR gasket.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
How the 7.9 score breaks down
- Ballistic rating (MIL-PRF-32432) (20%)
- 9
- Lens options & tints (20%)
- 5.5
- Fit: OTG, youth, thin temples (30%)
- 8
- Anti-fog & scratch coating (30%)
- 8.5
What the specs support
- States MIL-PRF 32432-A on top of ANSI Z87.1+
- Vapor Shield anti-fog and a TPR gasket
- Published frame measurements
Where it falls short
- It's a goggle, not spectacles, which is more than most first range trips need
- The G-15 version was unavailable on Edge's store on 2026-09-19 (clear was available)
- Amazon search results we checked showed the standard Super 64; make sure the listing says OTG
Skip it if…
…you want ordinary glasses for an indoor pistol lane; this is a fit-over goggle, and a spectacle like the Pyramex OTS is simpler.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Edge Super 64 OTG
If you take one thing from this page, make it the measurement. Nearly every complaint about over-the-glasses eyewear traces back to buying a pair that was never going to fit the frames the buyer owns, and half the makers here publish the number that would have prevented it.
After fit, the order of importance for a first pair is: a stated high-impact rating, a named anti-fog option, thin temples, and lens color last. Tint is the easiest thing to get wrong in the other direction too, because a dark lens indoors takes away light you need. Our main shooting glasses roundup covers the non-prescription side of the same decision, and your first range kit puts eye protection in the context of everything else you need on day one.
How we scored this
Units we claim to have tested: none
Most gear sites say they tested thirty muffs. We haven't put these on a sound meter, and we say so. Every pick here is labeled Researched: we compiled each maker's published specs (the EPA-labeled NRR on hearing protection, the Z87+ mark on glasses), read the manuals, and scored everything on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and marketing claims are labeled “maker's claim.”
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Common questions
What are the best shooting glasses for people who wear glasses?
Can you wear safety glasses over prescription glasses?
How do I know if OTG glasses will fit over my frames?
Do OTG shooting glasses fog up more?
Will OTG glasses break the seal on my earmuffs?
Are prescription safety glasses better than OTG?
Where this comes from
Sources
- Pyramex, OTS Over the Spectacle (S3510STJ) product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Pyramex, OTS XL product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- 3M, SecureFit 3700 OTG Series brochure (PDF), accessed 2026-09-19
- Edge Eyewear, Ossa Clear OTG Safety Glasses (XF111-L) product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Edge Eyewear, Ossa Smoke OTG Safety Glasses (XF116-L) product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Edge Eyewear, Super 64 OTG product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, HL100 Series OTG Glasses (clear lens) product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, HL102 Series OTG Glasses (amber lens) product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- Radians, Chief OTG Safety Eyewear product page, accessed 2026-09-19
- HexArmor, Safety eyewear: What do lens markings and ANSI Z87+ mean?, accessed 2026-09-19
- OSHA, 29 CFR 1910.133 Eye and face protection, accessed 2026-09-19
- NRA, NRA Gun Safety Rules, accessed 2026-09-19
- NSSF, Firearm Safety - 10 Rules of Safe Gun Handling, accessed 2026-09-19
- NIOSH Alert 2009-136, Preventing Occupational Exposures to Lead and Noise at Indoor Firing Ranges (PDF), accessed 2026-09-19
- 3M, Scotchgard Anti-Fog Coating brochure (PDF), accessed 2026-09-19
- Mississippi DWFP, Shooting Facility Rules & Regulations, accessed 2026-09-19
We haven't tested the gear on this page and we don't pretend to. Specs come from each maker's own pages and data sheets (linked on every product); ratings like NRR and Z87+ are explained from the standards and agencies behind them. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.



