Quick picks
The picks at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small The same Impact Sport electronics in the one size a major brand actually publishes as Adult Small, at NRR 22. | Best fit for a smaller headNRR 22 | 6.8/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() Walker's Razor Slim Electronic NRR 23 in a low-profile cup, with the widest choice of colors if that matters to you, and both AAAs included. | Best all-round electronic muffNRR 23 | 6.3/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Howard Leight Leightning L0F No batteries, collapses to four inches, and an ultra-slim cup Howard Leight says won't interfere with your shooting. | Best lightweight folding muffNRR 23 | 7.2/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() Caldwell E-Max Low Profile Caldwell's low-profile earcup at NRR 23, aimed at shotgun and action shooters who mount a gun to their cheek. | Best low-profile cup for long gunsNRR 23 | 6.2/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 5 | ![]() Howard Leight Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit An NRR 25 adjustable muff with glasses sold as a women's fit; check the packaging for the Z87 mark yourself. | Best starter kit with glassesNRR 25 | 5.8/10Researched | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from published specs and manuals, not hands-on tests. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Search for women's shooting earmuffs and you will mostly find standard muffs in pink. That is not a conspiracy, it is a gap: hearing protection is regulated on noise reduction, not on head shape, so a maker has no obligation to publish anything about sizing and most of them publish very little.
Which means this page has to be about something real instead. The question that actually decides whether a muff works for you is whether the cushions seal against your head, and the specs that bear on that are size range, cup profile, weight and how the headband adjusts. Everything below is a currently sold product and every spec comes from the maker's own page, linked in Sources.
There is no women's hearing-protection standard
Worth stating plainly, because a lot of marketing implies otherwise. The Noise Reduction Rating printed on a box comes from an EPA rule, 40 CFR Part 211 Subpart B, and it is measured in a laboratory on test subjects with steady noise. There is no separate women's rating, no women's test and no women's certification. A muff marketed to women and the same muff in black protect identically.
What does differ between products is physical: how far the headband adjusts, how deep the cups are, how heavy the whole thing is, and whether the cushions can find a flat seal on your head. Those are the things worth paying for, and they are the things this page ranks on.
How we picked
Bench & Berm does not test gear, so nothing here is a test result. Picks are researched from published maker information and scored on the rubrics published on how we pick. Every pick carries a US EPA NRR published by its maker, which is the gate for everything in this hub.
Beyond the gate, we ranked on what the maker will actually commit to about fit:
- A published size other than one-size. Only Howard Leight does this among the major brands, with its "Youth/Adult Small" Impact Sport. That is why it leads the page.
- A published cup profile. Slim, low-profile or ultra-slim, in the maker's own words. Thinner cups are lighter and interfere less with a rifle or shotgun stock.
- Adjustment range and cushion type. How much headband travel there is and whether the cushions are described at all.
- Weight, where published. A muff you will wear for two hours is a different purchase from one you wear for twenty minutes.
We did not rank on color, and we did not rank on price. The site shows live prices where it can and a "check price" link where it cannot, because a number typed into an article is stale the week after it is published.
What fit actually means on an earmuff
An earmuff works by sealing a volume of air around your ear. Break the seal anywhere and the rating on the box becomes fiction. Four things break it, and all four are more likely on a smaller head:
- A headband at the end of its travel. If the muff is already at its smallest setting and still feels loose, it will not seal. This is the failure the Youth/Adult Small size exists to fix.
- Cushions that bridge rather than sit flat. Large cups on a narrow head can contact at the top and bottom and gap at the front, where your jaw is.
- Hair under the cushion. A ponytail, a clip or a thick braid under the band pushes the whole muff up and off. This is the single most common real-world seal failure and it has nothing to do with the muff.
- A spectacle temple arm. Any glasses break the seal where the arm crosses the cushion. Our ear protection with glasses page goes through how much that costs you and what to do about it.
The sizing gap in the category
Here is the honest state of the market as of this writing. Almost every adult shooting muff from a major brand is sold in a single size, usually described as Medium/Large. Howard Leight is the exception that publishes a Youth/Adult Small version of the Impact Sport, and its page describes the sizing in exactly those words (Howard Leight) without giving an age range or a head measurement.
The other route makers take is not smaller, but slimmer and lighter. Howard Leight says the Leightning L0F has an ultra-slim earcup that will not interfere with your shooting and collapses to four inches (Howard Leight). Caldwell says the E-Max Low Profile cup is "ideal for shotgun shooters and action shooters" (Caldwell). Walker's calls the Razor Slim a "low-profile design" ( Walker's). None of those is a size claim, but a slimmer, lighter muff is a more comfortable muff on any smaller frame.
One more option worth knowing: if a muff will not seal on you at all, earplugs sidestep the entire problem, because they seal in your ear canal rather than around it. Foam plugs run to NRR 33, higher than any muff here. Our best earplugs for shooting page has the lineup, and earplugs vs earmuffs lays out the trade.
Hair, glasses and the seal
Nobody's product page covers this and it matters more than most specs. If you tie your hair back, put the gather low, at the nape of your neck rather than high on your head, so the headband has a clear path. A high ponytail or a clip at the crown lifts a muff and leaves a gap at the bottom of the cup, which is precisely where the sound comes in.
With glasses, the order of operations helps: glasses on first, then muffs settled over them, then check the seal. Thin, flat temple arms cost you less than thick sporty ones. If you wear a prescription, the over-the-glasses route is usually better than trying to find shooting glasses in your prescription, and our shooting glasses for glasses wearers page covers the frames built for it.
Range clothing intersects with this too. The NRA Women guide to range attire makes the point that a high collar and a closed neckline keep hot brass out, and a collar that stands up can also push a muff cup. Our what to wear to a shooting range page covers the rest of it.
Weight and all-day comfort
Almost no muff maker publishes a weight, which is frustrating, because on a two-hour session weight is what you actually notice. Two proxies work in its absence:
- Passive versus electronic. A passive muff has no batteries, no speakers and no circuit board. The Leightning L0F is the lightest-feeling muff on this page for exactly that reason, and it is the one we would pick for a long day of clays where you do not need amplification.
- Slim versus full cup. A slim cup contains less material. It also usually carries a lower NRR, which is the recurring trade in this category: the L0F and the Caldwell are both NRR 23, while a full-size passive muff like the Howard Leight Leightning L3 reaches NRR 30.
If you are shooting indoors, that trade matters. A NIOSH-authored review puts most recreational firearms above a .22 between 150 and 165 dB at the shooter's ear, and ASHA notes rifles and shotguns often reach 160 to 170 dB peak (ASHA). A comfortable NRR 22 muff in a concrete bay wants foam plugs underneath, which our double hearing protection page explains, including why you cannot add the two ratings together.
On pink, and on buying by color
Nothing wrong with wanting gear you like the look of, and Walker's Razor Slim in particular is sold in a long list of colors. Two practical notes, though.
First, a color variant is sometimes a different product. Walker's sells both a "Razor Slim Electronic" and a separate "Razor Slim Muffs" listing that does not state an NRR at all, and they look similar in a thumbnail. Check that the listing you are buying names the model and states a rating.
Second, Howard Leight's women's combo kit is a genuinely useful starter bundle, in dusty rose, with an NRR 25 adjustable muff and glasses sold as a women's fit. But Howard Leight's page for that kit does not state a Z87.1 rating for the glasses, while its page for the standard kit does. That is a real gap on a safety product, so look for the Z87 mark stamped on the frame or lens before you wear them. Our Z87 vs Z87+ page explains what the markings mean and where to find them.
Which one for which shooter
- Standard muffs have never fit you: Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small. Same electronics, the only published small size here.
- First muffs, want amplification: Walker's Razor Slim Electronic. NRR 23, low profile, batteries included.
- Long days, clays or trap: Howard Leight Leightning L0F. No batteries to think about, folds into a bag, lightest here.
- Shotgun or action shooting: Caldwell E-Max Low Profile. Caldwell aims the cup at exactly that shooter. Buy AAAs with it; they are not in the box.
- Buying eye and ear together: Howard Leight Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit, with the Z87 caveat above.
If this is your first range trip altogether, the NSSF new shooter guide and our own first time at a shooting range page will tell you what else to bring.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best fit for a smaller head
Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small
The same Impact Sport electronics in the one size a major brand actually publishes as Adult Small, at NRR 22.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 22 dB |
|---|---|
| Sizing | Youth/Adult Small (no age given) |
| Batteries | 2 x AAA |
| Battery life | About 350 hoursMaker's claim |
| Auto shut-off | After 4 hours |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Color | Metallic Charcoal Gray |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 6
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 5.5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 7
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 9
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 7.5
What the specs support
- 4-hour auto shut-off, so a switch a kid forgets doesn't drain the batteries
- Howard Leight quotes about 350 hours from two AAAs
- "Youth/Adult Small" sizing also covers smaller adults
Where it falls short
- NRR 22 is the lowest of the kids' muffs we cover
- No age range; "Youth/Adult Small" is the only sizing guide Howard Leight gives
Skip it if…
…your child is very young; Howard Leight gives no age for this size and it's the lowest-rated kids' muff here at NRR 22, while Walker's Baby & Kid's muff states 6 months to 8 years.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small
Rank 2

Best all-round electronic muff
Walker's Razor Slim Electronic
NRR 23 in a low-profile cup, with the widest choice of colors if that matters to you, and both AAAs included.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 23 dB |
|---|---|
| Batteries | 2 x AAA (included) |
| Cup profile | "Low-profile design"Maker's claim |
| Battery life | Not stated on Walker's page |
| Bluetooth | Not mentioned on Walker's page |
How the 6.3 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 6.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 7.5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 6
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 5
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 6
What the specs support
- Walker's calls it a low-profile design, which matters when a rifle or shotgun stock meets the cup
- NRR 23, one point above the Impact Sport
- Both AAA batteries come in the box
Where it falls short
- No battery life or auto shut-off time is published by Walker's
- Easy to confuse with Walker's separate "Razor Slim Muffs" listing, which doesn't state an NRR; check the listing says Electronic
Skip it if…
…you want a muff that switches itself off when you forget; Walker's doesn't publish an auto shut-off for this model, while the Razor Pro Digital lets you set 2, 4 or 6 hours.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Walker's Razor Slim Electronic
Rank 3

Best lightweight folding muff
Howard Leight Leightning L0F
No batteries, collapses to four inches, and an ultra-slim cup Howard Leight says won't interfere with your shooting.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 23 dB |
|---|---|
| Folding | Yes; Howard Leight says it collapses to just four inchesMaker's claim |
| Cup profile | Ultra-slim earcup that Howard Leight says won't interfere with your shootingMaker's claim |
| Batteries | None (passive earmuff) |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Published NRR (40%)
- 6.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (25%)
- 8
- Folding & portability (15%)
- 9
- Comfort & adjustment (20%)
- 6
What the specs support
- Collapses to four inches, the only folded size any muff here publishes
- Ultra-slim earcup that Howard Leight says won't interfere with your shooting
- No batteries to replace
Where it falls short
- NRR 23 is seven points under Howard Leight's own Leightning L3
- At that rating, plan on foam plugs underneath at a loud indoor range
Skip it if…
…you want to skip plugs at an indoor range; at NRR 23 the L0F is really a muff to wear over foam plugs there, so trade up to the NRR 27 Walker's Razor Slim Passive if you still want a folding design.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Leightning L0F
Rank 4

Best low-profile cup for long guns
Caldwell E-Max Low Profile
Caldwell's low-profile earcup at NRR 23, aimed at shotgun and action shooters who mount a gun to their cheek.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 23 dB |
|---|---|
| Batteries | 2 x AAA (not included) |
| Cup profile | "Low profile earcup that's ideal for shotgun shooters and action shooters"Maker's claim |
| Battery life | Not stated on Caldwell's page |
| Bluetooth | No |
How the 6.2 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 6.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 7.5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 6
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 4.5
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 6
What the specs support
- Caldwell says the low-profile earcup is "ideal for shotgun shooters and action shooters"
- NRR 23, one point above the Howard Leight Impact Sport
- No Bluetooth, so there's nothing to pair
Where it falls short
- Batteries aren't included
- No battery life or auto shut-off time is published by Caldwell
Skip it if…
…you want a battery life you can plan around; Caldwell doesn't publish one, while Howard Leight quotes about 350 hours for the Impact Sport and Impact Pro.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Caldwell E-Max Low Profile
Rank 5

Best starter kit with glasses
Howard Leight Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit
An NRR 25 adjustable muff with glasses sold as a women's fit; check the packaging for the Z87 mark yourself.
Published specsResearched · not tested by us
| NRR | 25 dB (earmuff) |
|---|---|
| Impact rating | Not stated on Howard Leight's page for this kit |
| Lenses | Clear |
| Includes | Women's clear safety glasses and an adjustable earmuff |
| Color | Dusty rose |
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 7
- Glasses impact rating as published (30%)
- 3
- Fit & adjustment (20%)
- 7
- What's in the box (20%)
- 7
What the specs support
- Safety glasses sold as a women's fit
- Adjustable NRR 25 earmuff
- Dusty rose color
Where it falls short
- No Z87.1 rating is stated for the glasses on Howard Leight's page; look for a Z87+ mark on the packaging
- NRR 25 is modest for a loud indoor range; add foam plugs underneath
Skip it if…
…you want the glasses' impact rating confirmed before you buy; the standard Shooting Sports kit's page states ANSI Z87.1-2015 (High Impact) and this one doesn't.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Women's Shooting Sports Safety Combo Kit
What to look for in earmuffs that fit
- A published NRR. Non-negotiable, and identical in meaning whatever the muff is marketed as. If a listing gives only an SNR, that is the European scale and you cannot compare it to a US rating.
- Any sizing statement at all. "Youth/Adult Small" is the phrase to search for. Most adult muffs say Medium/Large or say nothing.
- Cup profile wording. Slim, low-profile, ultra-slim. These are lighter and clear a shouldered stock better, at the cost of a few dB.
- Whether it folds. A folding muff survives a range bag. Howard Leight publishes a folded size for the L0F, which almost nobody does.
- Batteries, if it is electronic. Included or not, and whether there is an auto shut-off. Caldwell does not include AAAs; Walker's does.
- A return policy you can use. Fit is the one thing you cannot check from a spec sheet. Buy where you can send it back.
Beginner mistakes buying earmuffs for a smaller head
- Assuming a women's label means a smaller fit. Usually it means a different color on the same shell. Look for a sizing statement, not a marketing category.
- Wearing a high ponytail or a clip under the headband. It lifts the muff and opens a gap at the bottom of the cup, which undoes the rating you paid for.
- Buying the highest NRR you can find and nothing else. An NRR 30 muff that gaps protects worse than an NRR 22 muff that seals.
- Ignoring the glasses interaction. Thick temple arms cost real protection at the point they cross the cushion. Thin, flat arms are worth seeking out.
- Using a comfortable low-NRR muff alone indoors. Add foam plugs underneath in a concrete bay.
- Skipping the talk-out-loud check. Thirty seconds in your kitchen tells you more about fit than any product page can.
How we scored this
Units we claim to have tested: none
Most gear sites say they tested thirty muffs. We haven't put these on a sound meter, and we say so. Every pick here is labeled Researched: we compiled each maker's published specs (the EPA-labeled NRR on hearing protection, the Z87+ mark on glasses), read the manuals, and scored everything on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and marketing claims are labeled “maker's claim.”
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Common questions
Are there shooting earmuffs made specifically for women?
What are the best shooting earmuffs for a small head?
How do I know if my earmuffs fit properly?
Do I need to tie my hair differently to wear shooting earmuffs?
Is a lower-NRR muff that fits better than a high-NRR muff that doesn't?
Should I buy a combo kit with glasses or buy them separately?
Where this comes from
Sources
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small product page, accessed 2026-09-26
- Walker's, Razor Slim Electronic Ear Muffs product page, accessed 2026-09-26
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Leightning L0F Folding Ultra-Slim Earmuff product page, accessed 2026-09-26
- Caldwell, E-Max Low Profile Electronic Hearing Protection product page, accessed 2026-09-26
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Woman's Shooting Combo Kit product page, accessed 2026-09-26
- eCFR, 40 CFR Part 211 Subpart B (EPA hearing protector labeling, the rule behind the NRR), accessed 2026-09-26
- ASHA, "Recreational Firearm Noise Exposure" information series (PDF), accessed 2026-09-26
- NRA Women, "The Dos and Don'ts of Gun Range Attire", accessed 2026-09-26
- NSSF Let's Go Shooting, new shooter guidance, accessed 2026-09-26
We haven't tested the gear on this page and we don't pretend to. Specs come from each maker's own pages and data sheets (linked on every product); ratings like NRR and Z87+ are explained from the standards and agencies behind them. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.



