The contenders
Side by side

The one most people should buy
Howard Leight Impact Sport
NRR 227.2/10NRR 22, a slim cup Howard Leight says clears a firearm stock, about 350 hours from two AAAs and a 4-hour auto shut-off. The default first electronic muff for outdoor shooting.
$60.00Amazon#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport

Buy this instead for indoor bays
Howard Leight Impact Pro
NRR 307.4/10The same family at NRR 30, which is 8 dB more protection. The trade is a deeper cup Howard Leight does not describe as slim, so it suits a pistol bench better than a long gun.
$101.59Amazon#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Pro

Buy this if you want Bluetooth
Howard Leight Impact Sport Bluetooth
NRR 217.1/10Bluetooth 5.0 and a rechargeable battery with separate volume controls for audio and for the outside world. NRR drops a point to 21.
$118.07Amazon#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport Bluetooth

Buy this for a smaller head
Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small
NRR 226.8/10Identical published electronics and NRR 22 in Howard Leight's Youth/Adult Small shell, which is also the answer for a smaller adult, not only a kid.
$57.47Amazon#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small

How we reviewed it
Bench & Berm does not test gear, and this page is not a test report. Every figure below comes from Howard Leight's own product pages or from a federal hearing-protection source, and every one is linked in Sources at the bottom. Where Howard Leight does not publish something, this page says so instead of filling the gap with a guess.
That matters more for hearing protection than for most gear, because the one number people buy on is a laboratory measurement, not a field result. Our how we pick page sets out the rubric the score on this page comes from.
What the Impact Sport is
The Impact Sport is an over-the-head electronic earmuff. "Electronic" here means two things at once. Microphones on the outside of the cups pick up quiet sound and feed it to speakers inside, so you can hear a range command or a conversation with the muffs on. And the same circuit clamps down the instant something loud arrives, so the gunshot does not come through the speakers.
Underneath the electronics it is still a passive earmuff, and that is the part people miss. The rating on the box is the rating of the cup, the foam and the seal — not of the circuit. Our how electronic earmuffs work page walks through the whole chain, and electronic vs passive earmuffs covers whether you need the circuit at all.
Howard Leight is a Honeywell brand, which is why you will see the same muff sold under both names and why some listings call it the "Howard Leight by Honeywell" Impact Sport. It is the same product line.
The published specs
Here is every figure Howard Leight publishes for the version most people buy, alongside the three variants it sells next to it. Each value links to the page it came from.
Two more details from the Impact Sport's own product page do not fit a comparison row but matter in use. Howard Leight describes a "deluxe padded headband" with telescopic height adjustment and a "compact folding design for convenient storage", and the muff ships with an AUX input and a 3.5mm cord. More on both of those below.
What NRR 22 actually covers
NRR is the Noise Reduction Rating, a single number that American hearing protectors carry by federal requirement. The EPA labeling rule in 40 CFR Part 211 is what puts it on the package. It comes from a laboratory measurement on properly fitted protectors, which is the hinge this whole review turns on: the number assumes a complete seal, every time.
So what does 22 buy you? Not 22 dB off the muzzle blast. Published peak levels for common firearms run from roughly 140 dB to 170 dB peak sound pressure level at the shooter's ear, in the 2017 NIOSH review hosted by the CDC. No muff on the market brings a 160 dB impulse down to conversation level. What ear protection does is move you out of the worst of it, and a bigger number moves you further.
On the shelf, NRR 22 sits in the middle. Howard Leight's own Impact Pro is NRR 30. Foam plugs run to NRR 33. Our NRR rating chart lists every published rating we cover in one table, and what NRR do I need works through the federal arithmetic rather than hand-waving at it.
NIOSH's 2025 hearing-protector-fit guidance makes the same point from the other direction: the rating you get is the rating you achieve on your own head, which is why fit testing exists at all. The NIOSH 2025-104 update is the reference, and when to replace hearing protection covers the part of fit that degrades quietly: the seals.
The 82 dB cap, explained
This is the spec that explains how the muff behaves, and almost nobody mentions it. Howard Leight's page says the directional microphones "amplify range commands and other ambient sounds to a safe 82dB" and that the muff "automatically halts amplification when ambient sound exceeds 82dB".
Two consequences follow. First, the amplification is not a volume knob you can abuse: 82 dB is the ceiling the circuit works to, which is roughly busy-traffic loud and deliberately below the level where sustained noise does damage. Second, when the line goes hot, the electronics stop amplifying rather than trying to cancel anything. That is the part people misread. An electronic muff is not noise-cancelling headphones; it stops passing sound through and leaves you with the passive rating of the cup, which is the NRR 22 above.
In practice that is exactly what you want at a range. You hear a cease-fire call, you hear the person next to you, and you hear your own brass hitting concrete. You do not hear the shot through the speakers.
Batteries and the 4-hour shut-off
Two AAA cells, and Howard Leight quotes approximately 350 hours of battery life — the maker's claim, not a measurement of ours. The more useful feature is the one beside it: an automatic shut-off after four hours.
That sounds like a minor convenience and it is not. The way electronic muffs die is in a range bag, switched on, for three weeks. A 4-hour shut-off makes that failure mode almost impossible, which is why a beginner muff with auto shut-off is worth more than a beginner muff with a longer quoted runtime and no shut-off. It is the single strongest argument for the Impact Sport over cheaper electronic muffs that publish neither number.
The flip side: four hours is a short range day for some people, and the muff will switch itself off mid-session. You turn it back on. It is a two-second annoyance against a dead-battery drive home.
AAA cells are also the right kind of battery for gear you use occasionally. You can buy them at any gas station in America, which a proprietary rechargeable pack cannot claim. The Bluetooth version trades that for a built-in lithium-ion battery.
The slim cup and stock clearance
Howard Leight's claim here is specific: "Air Flow Control technology promotes a slim earcup design" so that your firearm stock has clearance while shooting. That is the maker's wording and the maker's claim, but it names a real problem.
When you shoulder a rifle or a shotgun, the comb of the stock sweeps up your cheek. A deep earmuff cup sits in that path, and the stock either catches the bottom of the cup and shifts it off its seal or you learn to drop your head to miss it, which wrecks your gun fit. A protector lifted a couple of millimeters off your skull is not delivering the number on its label.
This is the Impact Sport's quiet advantage over higher-rated muffs, including Howard Leight's own Impact Pro — Howard Leight does not describe the Pro's cup as slim or low-profile anywhere on its page. If you shoot long guns, that difference can be worth more than the 8 dB on paper. Our best ear protection for shotgun shooting page is built entirely around this problem, and Impact Sport vs Impact Pro puts the two head to head on it.
The AUX input, and what it is not
The Impact Sport ships with an AUX input and a 3.5mm cord. It is a wired audio input, not Bluetooth, and it is easy to oversell: it lets you plug in a phone or a radio, which is more useful on a hunting stand or a long prairie-dog afternoon than on a pistol line.
If wireless audio is what you actually want, the right answer is the Impact Sport Bluetooth rather than a cord. That version carries Bluetooth 5.0, a rechargeable battery and — the detail worth paying for — separate volume controls for the Bluetooth stream and for the environmental microphones, so music cannot bury a range command. You pay for it with one point of NRR, down to 21. Our best Bluetooth shooting earmuffs page ranks that version against the rest of the Bluetooth field.
One honest caution that applies to every muff with an audio input: whatever you pipe in rides on top of a sustained-noise budget your ears are already spending at the range. Keep it low, and do not use the input as a reason to shoot without the amplification turned on.
Fit, sizing and glasses
Howard Leight lists the standard Impact Sport as Medium/Large, with a "deluxe padded headband" and telescopic height adjustment, and it folds for storage. Two fit notes follow from that.
If the Medium/Large shell is too big — which is common for younger shooters and for plenty of adults — Howard Leight sells the Impact Sport in Youth/Adult Small with the same published electronics and the same NRR 22. Read "Youth" as a shell size, not an age limit; it is the version to buy for a smaller adult head. Our kids' ear protection roundup covers it in that context, and ear protection for big heads handles the other end of the range, where the Impact Sport is not the strongest answer.
If you wear glasses, the temple arm is the thing that breaks a muff's seal — not the headband. A thick arm under a cup leaves a channel for noise, which is a bigger deal on an NRR 22 muff than on an NRR 30 one, because you have less margin to give away. Our ear protection with glasses page covers how to pick frames that sit under cups, and shooting glasses for under earmuffs lists the thin-arm frames.
Which of the four versions
- Impact Sport (Medium/Large), NRR 22. The default. Outdoor pistol and rifle shooting, a first electronic muff, teaching someone else, keeping a spare in the truck.
- Impact Pro, NRR 30. Buy this instead if your shooting is mostly indoors or mostly a pistol bench, where the deeper cup costs you nothing and the 8 dB is real.
- Impact Sport Bluetooth, NRR 21. Buy this if you want wireless audio and separate volume controls, and accept a point of rating and a battery you cannot swap at a gas station.
- Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small, NRR 22. Buy this for a smaller head, adult or not. Same published electronics, smaller shell.
If you are cross-shopping outside the family, the two comparisons worth reading are Walker's Razor vs Impact Sport — the single most common head-to-head in this category — and the full best electronic earmuffs roundup.
Who should skip it
- Indoor-only shooters who want one item to do the whole job. NRR 22 is not enough on its own in a concrete bay. Impact Pro, or plugs underneath.
- Anyone who wants the highest possible rating. That is foam plugs at NRR 33, not any muff. Our best earplugs for shooting page covers them, and how to wear foam earplugs covers the part people get wrong.
- Shooters who want nothing on the outside of their head. Electronic earplugs do amplification in the canal; see best electronic earplugs.
- Anyone needing a published battery runtime for a Bluetooth muff. Howard Leight does not state one for the Bluetooth version, and we will not invent it.
The verdict
The Impact Sport earns its position as the default first electronic muff not by winning any single spec but by having no gaps. The rating is published. The battery is a AAA. The runtime claim is stated. The shut-off is stated and it is the right length. The cup is slim enough for a long gun, and the maker says so in writing. The amplification has a published ceiling. There is a smaller shell if the standard one does not fit, and a Bluetooth version if you want audio.
Spend more only for a reason you can name: more rating indoors (Impact Pro), wireless audio (Bluetooth), or nothing on your head at all (electronic plugs). Otherwise this is the muff to buy, wear correctly, and replace when the seals go hard. If you are still assembling the rest of a first kit, our first range kit guide covers what goes with it.
In detail
The contenders, in full

The one most people should buy
Howard Leight Impact Sport
NRR 22, a slim cup Howard Leight says clears a firearm stock, about 350 hours from two AAAs and a 4-hour auto shut-off. The default first electronic muff for outdoor shooting.
Published specsResearched · every value sourced
| NRR | 22 dB |
|---|---|
| Batteries | 2 x AAA |
| Battery life | About 350 hoursMaker's claim |
| Auto shut-off | After 4 hours |
| Bluetooth | No (Howard Leight sells Bluetooth versions as separate products) |
| Cup profile | Slim earcup; Howard Leight says its Air Flow Control design ensures your firearm stock has clearance while shootingMaker's claim |
| Sizing | Medium/Large |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 6
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 8.5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 7
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 9
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 6.5
What the specs support
- Shuts itself off after 4 hours, so a muff left on in the range bag doesn't flatten the batteries
- Howard Leight quotes about 350 hours from two AAA batteries
- Slim earcup the maker says leaves your firearm stock clearance when you shoulder a long gun
Where it falls short
- NRR 22 is 8 dB below Howard Leight's own Impact Pro (NRR 30)
- No Bluetooth on this version; Bluetooth models are sold separately
- Listed in Medium/Large; smaller heads should look at the Youth/Adult Small version
Skip it if…
…you shoot mostly at an indoor range and want the most protection a muff can give on its own; NRR 22 is on the low side, so pair it with foam plugs or look at the NRR 30 Impact Pro.
#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport

Buy this instead for indoor bays
Howard Leight Impact Pro
The same family at NRR 30, which is 8 dB more protection. The trade is a deeper cup Howard Leight does not describe as slim, so it suits a pistol bench better than a long gun.
Published specsResearched · every value sourced
| NRR | 30 dB |
|---|---|
| Batteries | 2 x AAA (included) |
| Battery life | About 350 hoursMaker's claim |
| Auto shut-off | After 4 hours |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Cup profile | Not stated by Howard Leight; the page says rubberized pressure points prevent gunstock scratchingMaker's claim |
How the 7.4 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 8.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 6
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 7
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 9
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 6
What the specs support
- NRR 30: the highest rating of any electronic muff in our picks, and 8 dB more than the Impact Sport
- Both AAA batteries come in the box
- 4-hour auto shut-off and a quoted 350-hour battery life, same as the Impact Sport
- Rubberized pressure points that Howard Leight says prevent gunstock scratching
Where it falls short
- Howard Leight doesn't describe a slim or low-profile cup for this model
- No Bluetooth
Skip it if…
…you mostly shoot a rifle or shotgun and want a cup the maker describes as slim or low-profile; Howard Leight doesn't state one for the Impact Pro, while the Impact Sport and Walker's Razor muffs do.
#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Pro

Buy this if you want Bluetooth
Howard Leight Impact Sport Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.0 and a rechargeable battery with separate volume controls for audio and for the outside world. NRR drops a point to 21.
Published specsResearched · every value sourced
| NRR | 21 dB |
|---|---|
| Bluetooth | "Quick-connect bluetooth 5.0"; Howard Leight says its "2 Mbps data speed is twice as fast as BT 4.2"Maker's claim |
| Batteries | Rechargeable lithium-ion |
| Auto shut-off | "Automatic shut-off feature after four hours increases battery life" |
| Amplification | "5X sound amplification enhances low level frequencies like range commands, conversation and forest sounds"Maker's claim |
| Reaction time | 0.5 millisecond reaction time on impulse sound compressionMaker's claim |
| Cup profile | "Air Flow Control Technology allows for a slim, low profile ear cup to ensure firearm stock clearance"Maker's claim |
| Sizing | Medium/Large |
| Volume controls | Separate volume controls for Bluetooth and for environmental amplification |
| Battery life | Not stated on Howard Leight's page for the Bluetooth model |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 5.5
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 8.5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 8
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 7
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 7
What the specs support
- Separate volume controls for Bluetooth and for the outside world, so music doesn't bury a range command
- The 4-hour auto shut-off carries over from the plain Impact Sport
- The same Air Flow Control slim cup Howard Leight says clears a firearm stock
- Rechargeable, so there are no AAAs to keep buying
Where it falls short
- NRR 21 is a point below the non-Bluetooth Impact Sport's 22 and 9 below the Impact Pro's 30
- Howard Leight publishes no battery life for the Bluetooth version
- Sold in Medium/Large only; the Youth/Adult Small Bluetooth version is discontinued
Skip it if…
…your main range is an indoor pistol bay and you want one muff to carry the whole job; NRR 21 is low for that, so look at the NRR 26 Walker's XCEL 500BT or wear foam plugs underneath.
#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport Bluetooth

Buy this for a smaller head
Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small
Identical published electronics and NRR 22 in Howard Leight's Youth/Adult Small shell, which is also the answer for a smaller adult, not only a kid.
Published specsResearched · every value sourced
| NRR | 22 dB |
|---|---|
| Sizing | Youth/Adult Small (no age given) |
| Batteries | 2 x AAA |
| Battery life | About 350 hoursMaker's claim |
| Auto shut-off | After 4 hours |
| Bluetooth | No |
| Color | Metallic Charcoal Gray |
How the 6.8 score breaks down
- Published NRR (30%)
- 6
- Fit with glasses & cup profile (20%)
- 5.5
- Electronics: amplification & shut-off (20%)
- 7
- Power: battery & auto-off (15%)
- 9
- Comfort & adjustment (15%)
- 7.5
What the specs support
- 4-hour auto shut-off, so a switch a kid forgets doesn't drain the batteries
- Howard Leight quotes about 350 hours from two AAAs
- "Youth/Adult Small" sizing also covers smaller adults
Where it falls short
- NRR 22 is the lowest of the kids' muffs we cover
- No age range; "Youth/Adult Small" is the only sizing guide Howard Leight gives
Skip it if…
…your child is very young; Howard Leight gives no age for this size and it's the lowest-rated kids' muff here at NRR 22, while Walker's Baby & Kid's muff states 6 months to 8 years.
#ad · Price as of November 3, 2026 · How we make money for the link to Howard Leight Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small
How we scored this
Every pick, scored on numbers you can check
Every pick here is labeled Researched: we compiled each maker's published specs (the EPA-labeled NRR on hearing protection, the Z87+ mark on glasses), read the manuals, checked the standards behind them, and scored everything on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from, and marketing claims are labeled “maker's claim,” so you can see exactly why a pick ranks where it does.
Scores are editorial judgments built from that documented research. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Common questions
Is the Howard Leight Impact Sport good enough for an indoor range?
What is the difference between the Impact Sport and the Impact Pro?
How long do the batteries last in an Impact Sport?
Does the Impact Sport have Bluetooth?
Will the Impact Sport fit a child?
Does the amplification cancel the gunshot?
Where this comes from
Sources
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Sport Electronic Earmuff product page (checked 2026-10-23)
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Pro Electronic Earmuff product page
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Sport Bluetooth Electronic Earmuff product page
- Howard Leight Shooting Sports, Impact Sport Youth/Adult Small Electronic Earmuff product page
- EPA hearing protector labeling requirements, 40 CFR Part 211 Subpart B
- NIOSH, Hearing Protector Fit-Testing (DHHS 2025-104)
- Meinke, Finan, Flamme, Murphy et al. (NIOSH), peak levels from recreational firearms, 2017
Specs come from each maker's own pages and data sheets (linked on every product); ratings like NRR and Z87+ are explained from the standards and agencies behind them. Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so the buy button always takes you to the current one. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.

